We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly cooked food by stunning views of the Norfolk coast”

The Highwayman Restaurant @ Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Polish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: SOME PHOTOS ARE PREVIOUS CATERERS BEEN REPORTED The Highwayman welcomes all customers old and new to our newly refurbished restaurant. Enjoy one of our freshly cooked meals in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The exquisite selection on our menus are what can only be described as "fine dining" but in a price bracket affordable to all. Most of our produce is sourced locally and delivered fresh by local companies, run by local people. Try our fantastic traditional carvery. The carvery boasts a choice of 4 roast meats, homemade pies, vegetarian options as well as fresh seasonal vegetables and traditional trimmings. runs every Sunday. Bookings are not always necessary but are recommended. But do not forget the range of functions that we also cater for. Your wedding, Birthday, anniversary, Christening, Retirement, Christmas and many more celebrations. Please feel free to contact one of our friendly staff to enquire about our wedding and function packages, ALSO PLEASE NOT BAR OPEN TILL LAT
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Excellent service for buffet roast dinner.Food healthy and plentiful and staff attentive.Very reasonable at under £10 a person for great family food.Also doggy bags to support a local dogs charity a lovely touch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nickys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

On entry the restaurant looks impressive. Such a shame the lovely view could only be enjoyed by the one family across the window table. Food was disappointing. Over cooked chips that exploded grease, not edible but we were still charged for the full meal. Will give it a miss if ever that way again.

2  Thank tina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, Manager at The Highwayman Restaurant @ Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi
Im sorry you didnt enjoy your chips on this occasion many people have different taste maybe you would have preferred the frozen choice of chips instead of the fresh hand cut chips
All of my other diners on that evening where over the moon with there meals and couldnt compliment the chefs enough as for the window seat it in the resturant we have this booked by people in advanced there was on the other hand, tables available in our bar area with the same amazing views.
I also spoke to you myself about this after you ordered cheesecake for your lactose free child and i refused to serve this on the bassis cheesecake everyone knows contains lactose
JAMES
MANAGAMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Fantastic location. On entering your first impression is of a dated holiday camp reception but get past that and you enter a lovely restaurant with the most fantastic views. Lovely carvery with the largest Yorkshire puddings I have ever seen. Does get very busy

1  Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, Manager at The Highwayman Restaurant @ Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thankyou for your comments
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Fabulous carvery, with 4 meat choices & a pie ...... Huge Yorkshire puddings with trimmings and lots of vegetable choices.
Stuffed & no room for pudding.
Very popular, best to book to avoid disappointment!

2  Thank Mad_Maggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, Manager at The Highwayman Restaurant @ Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thankyou for your loverly comments
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Great carvery, including homemade pie! Staff are very friendly, really good value for money. Highly recommended.

Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, Manager at The Highwayman Restaurant @ Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thankyou for your loverly comments
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highwayman Restaurant @ Hermanus also viewed

Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk
 
Hemsby, Great Yarmouth
Ormesby St. Margaret, Norfolk
 
Rollesby, Norfolk
 

Been to The Highwayman Restaurant @ Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing