We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Anchor Inn at Eckington
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Eckington
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Pershore)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Swan Hotel(Upton upon Severn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
White Lion Hotel(Upton upon Severn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor House Hotel(Tewkesbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hop Pole(Tewkesbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
4
4
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
4
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Extensive menu at very reasonable prices. Choice range from sirloin steak to fish and chips. Have tried both and both were excellent. Good quality, nice ambience, friendly staff. Highly recommended. Good range of local cask ales, spirits and reasonably priced wines. Called one Friday to find live music which was very enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

16 of us booked Sunday lunch - a vary basic but satisfying meal with good quantities and reasonable prices. A cheerful welcome from the staff and good and prompt service. Only negative from all the ladies was the 'rustic' loo - hot tap not working and decor needed updating, But all in all a pleasant afternoon in a lovely village, and a nice drive in the countryside.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I hadn't used the Anchor Inn at Eckington for many years, but decided to call in one Sunday afternoon to see if they did food. It was late afternoon and it was very quiet in the pub, but there were one or two eating. We ordered from the menu which didn't have a massive choice, but my wife chose Lasagne and I chose Ham Egg and chips. The food was OK, but that was really all I could say about it, the portion size was good and there was nothing really wrong with the meal, it filled a gap and was reasonably priced The pub itself just seemed a little lackluster and slightly dated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A couple of years back when we were in the area visiting a friend we had a nice meal in the smart pub on the main road called The Bell, so this time we thought we’d give The Anchor a go. First off, we should say we think the owners of the Anchor have come up with a very sensible, solid pub menu at very good prices. Our steak meals were very good pub fare, and based on our experience, we have no reason to suspect that all meals served here won’t be to a similar standard. But there’s hardly any wine choice, although the red we had was fine.

So while the food itself was good, the pub itself is not. When you walk in, it’s circa 1979/1980 that hits you, plus a very distinct musty-damp smell. Even though Eckington village is obviously, by and large, a very well-to-do place, with probably 500 houses, some of them very large, we were the only people eating on a Saturday evening, (that itself is a bit worrying), only one couple were having drinks, and a couple of kids were playing a game of pool. We guess this pub’s a privately owned free house and we assume there’s not a lot of capital to improve the building but something needs to be done to entice people through the door more than once. One pair of our jeans went straight into the wash when we got home, but as an experiment, the second pair were aired for three days before the musty smell went away – that’s not the sort of experience that’s going to get lots of repeat customers in a well-to-do village, especially with the much busier and smart Bell just up the road.

We didn't stay in the pub so can't add comments about the accommodation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

As a newbie to the village I was a little worried about finding a new local to drink in. On a walk of the village I happened to come across the anchor. The interior was traditional and gave off a warm and welcoming feeling. The landlady was lovely and made me feel very welcome to the pub and to the village. The owner of the pub who was also the chef made us a lovely meal from a large range of choices which was thoroughly enjoyed. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews