We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really comfy and great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
GreenPals
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really comfy and great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved our stay at The Smithy. The weather was not great at the beginning of the week but we were really comfortable and warm inside. We are very fussy about beds but thought that was very good. The views from The Smithy are lovely and the surrounding countryside is delightful. The walk to Cotehele is well worthwhile and their Sunday lunch is excellent. The Tamar Valley Railway is also a treat. We would love to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, loved the views and found the cottage comfortable and warm. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAIRE A
WARMINSTER
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best views in England!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Smithy is well appointed & the best feature is the veranda which looks out over the Tamar and beautiful countryside. You can sit out there in good and bad weather, which is a real bonus and there's a lovely short walk around the mine ruins themselves. It's a relaxing walk along the river into Calstock, where the locals are friendly.
The wood burner in the cottage is excellent and it's extremely cosy in poor weather. However, the bed is small and very uncomfortable- possibly at the end of its life? - which is the only criticism we had.
Overall, this is an idyllic spot, which was very difficult to leave!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We're pleased that you considered the cottage to be well-appointed and cosy and appreciated the verandah and the views! We're sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. It's a standard 4'6" double bed with medium support mattress which was only replaced last year. We're pleased that it didn't spoil your overall experience and that you found the cottage difficult to leave!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you loved the cottage and location, and enjoyed having breakfast on the verandah whilst taking in the views! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your recent review of The Smithy. We're pleased you had a relaxing and peaceful holiday, appreciated the cottage decor and enjoyed the local walks and pubs. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hoi-Monke...
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful getaway for our minimoon. Wonderful view and a gorgeous little cottage, finished to a high standard.

A very relaxing break which our dog enjoyed as well! She also seemed to get on well the owners dog Jess, who is a cutie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your minimoon at Okel Tor Mine, including your dog! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$68
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing