We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Nourishment For The Soul”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ColnePoin...
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Nourishment For The Soul”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This was our second visit to this national treasure and we were as entranced and spellbound as our visit last year. We stayed in The Count House.

As soon as you open the door on this unremarkable looking little stone building tucked away in the woods just off a public bridleway, you are transported into a most wonderful space. It is simple, clean, well appointed, has a location and view to die for and is cosy, very cosy!

January 2014 was the wettest January on record. Okel Tor Mine had its fair share of the wet stuff and was sodden. It didn't matter a bit. On arrival, we lit the fire in the woodburner, put the kettle on and had tea and crumpets in front of the fire.

Okel Tor Mine is a World Heritage Site, a Site of Special Scientific Interest, set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. However, it is so much more than all its accolades.

Close your eyes for a moment and you could be transported back over a century to a bustling office where ores are being assayed and miners are being paid but, all that has gone, what left is this peace and tranquility. It is quite simply intoxicating and as the title alludes, pure nourishment for the soul.

But don't take our word for it, try it yourself (just not in January! Its not the weather but, our Anniversary ... and its going to be booked up!)

No trip to Okel Tor is complete without a visit to meet the proprietors Shaun & Kim, at The Boot Inn in Calstock, where you can be assured of a warm welcome.

Finally, our warmest thanks to both Greg & Nick our hosts. Thank you for your superb care and attention and for sharing this magical space with us!

Paul & Lynne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, right up until we had to leave
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the magic of Okel Tor - it was lovely to see you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next January!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your birthday so much! We look forward to welcoming you back in December 2014!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Dec 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed a relaxing stay in both The Smithy & Count House. Many guests like the fact that the mobile reception is poor so they can get away from it all! You can pick up Orange/T-mobile/EE in the garden and occasionally inside the cottages, but we have the landline phones in each cottage which guests can use if they need to. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Cold floors!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review of The Count House - we're pleased to hear that you found the cottage and location perfect for relaxing and enjoyed the scenery and walks. Thank you also for liking our Facebook page - we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
suffolk
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review - we're pleased you enjoyed the tranquility and views at Okel Tor and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing