We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best rural cottage to truly get away from it...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smoore6
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best rural cottage to truly get away from it all!”
Reviewed 15 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We have just got back from a fabulous stay at the beautiful Count House at Okel Tor Mine. It was by far the most fantastic cottage we have stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot!) - not only because of its tucked away location down the best track ever, but also because of the lovely, relaxed welcome we received from Nick, who is one of the most charming people we've ever met. The cottage is perfect and we felt instantly relaxed even before we'd seen it - finding it is like an adventure as first you go through the most pretty village of Calstock with its narrow lanes and higgldy-piggldy building, then up a lovely long lane until you come to a fantastic track that leads down to the tin mine itself. There is a very special air about the place - like a secret hideaway. The cottage is just lovely with a great log burner and everything you need, including stunning views of the river. It's warm, cosy an the perfect place for a couple or for a lone person who wants to lock themselves away from the world for a while. We loved every minute so much, we hardly went out! We can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being very remote without actually being very remote.
Liked least: There's nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
Thank you - We're delighted you had a relaxing stay and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrina T
Chessington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Heaven”
Reviewed 16 August 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in both cottages many times before and love them both
This time we stayed in the Smithy, you can feel yourself unwind as soon as you get there, it is so peacful here
All the stresses and strains from work just float away, the view over the Tamar is to die for
How many people have a view like that to wake up to in the morning
The cottage has all the equipment that you need to make your stay comfortable
We have already rebooked and are going back in October

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet that it has to offer, you don't hear any traffic at all
Liked least: There was nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peace & Quiet
Liked least: The drive home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
3TierMarb...
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Little Oasis”
Reviewed 29 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is the place to go to if you want to get away from it all. You can hear the owls at night. It's so peaceful and relaxing. The two properties are cleverly dvided by trees and bushes. Ticks all the boxes

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing