We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
108
77
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
77
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese breakfast sensoji temple sleeping area private onsen tatami mats western style minute walk asakusa station ginza line sitting room first floor the breakfast area traditional setting drink tea toast few blocks japanese bath
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Convenient location and Friendly staff,but not a Ryokan experience that I was expecting!!
The room was very very small even in Japanese standard.
For this price next time I'll find something else.
We haven't try the food in this place so no comment on that.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roja_Meh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
旅館加茂川, オーナー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

We are very sorry that this ryokan does not meet your needs.
we are still learning the best service for our guests.
so we are hoping to that you would come back here.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Close to the shopping and the bustling Asakusa districts. Easy access to several train lines and a temple right next door. The room was very clean and well maintained and, in all respects a traditional Ryokan. Wifi is good and bathrooms are nice. I didn't use the public bath but was told it was very nice.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank Rikk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you very much for staying our ryokan and posting a wonderful review.
We are very happy that you like it very much and hoping to see you again.
Thank you.

Sincerely yours,
Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

What a little gem! The family who run this Ryokan are such welcoming and lovely people. It is a fantastic location , just around the corner from the Senso-ji Temple.Really eay to get to from the subway. And yet when you enter the front doors it is a peaceful oasis of calm away from the throngs of tourists. We had a traditional room which was just lovely, complete with futons, green tea, yukata. The Japanese breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend. Only sorry we couldn't stay longer.

Date of stay: March 2016
Thank sioDungarvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
旅館加茂川, front desk staff at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for staying with us and posting a wonderful review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again someday.
Thank you.

Sincerely yours,
Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

What can I say? Great place to stay. A traditional ryokan in a concrete building. Nice room, very comfortable matreses, nice comforters. Great and very helpful staff. A great experience in Tokyo. We paid for the breakfast in the morning and it was a very good one. If you want a taste of the old japan you should try this ryokan.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thor2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for such a nice review.
We are very happy to hear that you were very satisfied our hostel.
We have a large Japanese style bath in the hotel that you can use privately.
It is a “must” facility in the hotel.
If you or someone looking for Japanese one. this is your choice.

We are hoping to see you again.
Best regard.

RYOKAN KAMOGAWA ASAKUSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

What a delightful family-run ryokan! It is right in the centre of the historic Asakusa district of Tokyo - a few minutes walk from Asakusa metro station, right through the shops of the Kaminarimon Gate. We were always greeted courteously when arriving and leaving (leave your key at reception - and they remember your faces!), and they had some great maps of the Asakusa area to explore.
We stayed for 3 nights in a traditional room (with Western bathroom) - there are other rooms where you need to use communal bathrooms. It took a while to adjust to sitting on the floor and sleeping on the floor, but it was fun dressing up in a yukata and slippers and drinking hot tea in a traditional room. The living area is actually quite small but we still managed to fit two suitcases on the floor. The sleeping area was actually much larger, and there was a storage cupboard for clothes, and a closet with extra pillows and blankets (if the floor is too hard).
The thermos always contained boiling water, changed daily, so it meant we could eat instant noodles from a bowl when we arrived back late from our sightseeing!
The duvets are actually very warm, the room had excellent climate control (with additional instructions in English), and the small bar fridge was enough to cool a few drinks.
The bathroom was compact, and you have to raise your leg a bit to climb into the bath/shower unit. Get used to Japanese toilet seats - pre-warmed, accompanying noises etc.
Free wifi was excellent. We didn't pay for the breakfast (Western or Japanese) so we can't comment about this.
We thought it was a delightful place - a nice oasis from some of the chaos of Tokyo - and in a traditional setting which was a perfect start to a short Japanese holiday. Would definitely recommend it and would stay again!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
旅館加茂川, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ryokan Kamogawa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear sir or madam

Thank you very much such a nice review.
We are so happy to hear that you could enjoy our inn.
We wish you could have our breakfast service next time.
And the Large Japanese style bath in the fast floor is must-have for the inn.
The location is one of our best part.
Tokyo sky tree is very near from here.
We are waiting for your next visit.
And hoping that you can be exposed the culture.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews