We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
633
585
182
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
585
182
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the umeda sky building the executive lounge shuttle bus heavenly bed amadeus restaurant corner suite nice hotel an upgrade floating garden observatory breakfast buffet japanese standards japanese service kansai airport shuttle service rooms are big stayed two nights spacious room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

My husband and i spent 6 nights in The Westin Osaka during the summer from 25 July to 31 July 2018. It was our wedding anniversary and my husband had arranged with the hotel to surprise me by decking out our room with 100 balloons and a bouquet of flowers. The room we booked was not the refurbished one, but it was still clean and big with a very comfortable bed and great amenities.

The only downside to the hotel is the walk to the train station and the fact that there is only one airport shuttle a day that goes straight to the hotel. In the hot and humid summer Japan, the walk is simply unpleasant. However, you can always catch the airport shuttle which comes every 15mins. The hotel bar is smaller and less entertaining compared to The Hilton which is my de facto hotel in Osaka, but for the bigger room, i will stay in The westin again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneChewKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Firstly, thank you to the Westin Japanese staff for being so polite and friendly. I Spent three nights in this lovely hotel where reception was professional and friendly, but sadly it was slow even though they had a lot of staff working. It could be less flustered, faster and more efficient.
My room was on the 16th floor and they sent someone with me to explain the room’s features. He was polite and professional. As requested the room was quiet, and with reasonable views of the surrounding city area. Wifi worked well. As one would expect, in a Westin Hotel, the room is five stars, large, and is well appointed with a nice full sized bathroom. This is often not the case in some Japanese hotels!

The hotel also provides a very professional shuttle bus service to Osaka train station, and it’s a very good service, about every 15 minutes during the day. Alternatively one can easily walk to the Osaka station in 15 minutes.
I had breakfast and they provide a reasonable buffet with a wide range of dishes, but not of a 5 star standard. Some hot food was only warm and cold foods were not always cold. However, Chef Ueno at the omelette bar was very helpful and served me well. So did waitresses Yamaguchi and Takigawa, so thank you to them all. One should also avoid the 9-10 time slot as it can be very busy and you may need to wait for a table. Overall I rate the breakfast food as 3-4 stars, but the service is very good.
In summary, a nice hotel and a lovely room with polite and friendly staff. Overall my experience is a high-four or low-five stars, but need to improve the reception and breakfast food experience. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ahmadmO2508VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The room size is average for Westin hotel, but it should be considered large by Japanese standard. And the room was clean. The hotel staff was friendly. But the room rate was on the high side for what you get.

The location is close or next to Umeda Sky building, so it was convenient for me. But it was away from city center, away from central station for subway or train. So the location may be good or bad, depending on your taste. It is quiet and a bit isolated.

There is a 7-11 store across the street from the hotel.

Restaurant: The hotel has restaurants, but the prices are too high ($ 40 at least, and up in most cases). Although the prices are high, it did not taste all that great. Fortunately, there a food court at Umeda Sky building (B1 floor), and the food prices are cheap and the quality is acceptable.

The problem was that there was no place to eat for breakfast, since the food court in Umeda building is not open for breakfast. You can eat at the hotel - breakfast buffet (the only choice). But it was about $38 for the breakfast. It was too expensive for me for breakfast, as I usually eat light breakfast. The hotel should provide breakfast to hotel guests at reasonable price. The hotel seems only to care about making money from people. If you don't want to pay $38 per person, where do the family have breakfast?

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jyl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Unlike typical japan hotel, the Westin room and bed size are quite descent. It’s a good fit for the family of four. Although it looks a bit old, it’s still ok. It’s 10 mins walk to the Osaka station and there are many choices of food and shopping area.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KEGZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Recently stayed in The Westin Osaka with my families for almost a week. We stayed at the Japanese suite which is best stay we have in Japan. Not only it's roomy but also the experience made kids so exciting. Good fit for a family of 5 and still provide spaces for socializing.

Great service and great location (free shuttle to/from Osaka station in every 15 mins). Mr. Nagasuna (hotel manager) is very friendly and provided us all supports required. He even arranged a birthday cake for my wife and kid during their birthday :)

We love the hotel and would definitely stay again if back in Osaka.

Room tip: Pick up Japanese suite if available; you won't regret the experience
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael94168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews