We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
269
299
53
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
299
53
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free ramen noodles family mart rooms are small free shuttle hot bath free evening hot spring hotel train station free coffee per night convenience store baby stroller local shopping free hot spring wifi worked well min walk
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We were here for a short weekend getaway for my husband’a birthday. The hotel very kindly let us check in earlier at 2pm and prepared a small birthday gift (2 cup noodles)!

What I like about this hotel :

1. Good size room considering japan standard.
2. Great breakfast
3. Free hot spring
4. Good security to entering women hot spring (code changed daily instead of access my room key)
5. Free ramen from 2130 to 2300 (perfect after a hot dip at hot spring)
6. Phone chargers available in room.
7. Nearest station is Gion. Less than 10min walk to canal city.
8. Free shuttle to hakata station in the morning.

The only thing is the wall is a bit thin so you could hear some noises. Lift waiting time can be quite long during peak period.

Overall our stay was perfect (hot spring after a long day) and satisfactory.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LittenFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Fairly good location, only 5 min walk to Gion Station. They also provide shuttle bus to Hakata in the morning. The hotel is directly connected to a convenience store which is handy for purchasing water & snacks. We ate in a fancy soba restaurant (Murata) just round the corner, food was excellent. The rooms are basic and a bit worn. Room size is reasonable for Japan standards (you can fully open your suitcase and still walk around) Basic toiletries provided & renewed each day. There’s also complimentary ramen available from 9:30-11:00pm for guests.
The onsen was ok, once again a bit worn and not that clean since it is open for guests from 3:00pm - 10:00am the next morning. Front desk service was satisfactory, most staff spoke basic English, we didn’t have any communication problems. Best to book a room on a non smoking floor as the smoking ones are really stinky. (Especially 4/F) We chose to down grade our room which was originally on a smoking floor. Overall a good choice for average budget hotel in the city.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank ManChaTeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I paid 400 dollars for one night with member of four family. Totally disagree with 'Certificate of Excellence' at this place. Their onsen which is hot spring is filled with smell of disinfectant. The lobby service was incredible in bad way. I had asked a taxi reserved at the time of check in and they called reservation was made through phone. Funny part is, very next day when we were checking out, and asked about the taxi, they act like they didn't get any notice from their colleague. Well, mistake can be made but the other thing was unforgivable he keeps me asking "Only 2people? one room?" in English. I don't wanna even mention of his intent. I known this is not a hotel, it is the "inn" but takes 100 dollars for each one.

家族4人で和洋室を利用しました。ベッド2台に布団を2つ敷い宿泊が可能なホテルなので予約をしましたが、混雑シーズンなのか朝食4万円程度の支払いをしましたが、1温泉は、消毒薬のにおいだけです。2.人的サービスが本当にないです。タクシー翌日の朝に予約お願いをして部屋まで親切に予約確認の電話を受けて、すべてが予定されてでの認識をましたが、午前中にチェックアウトするとき、タクシーについて尋ねてみると、右往左往Are you、only one room?と聞いてきます。何? 再び聞いてきます。 Four people, only one room?おそらく2人部屋が多く、4人の宿泊が可能な和洋室が自分ホテルに運営することを知らなかったかもしれません。 日本語でても十分可能な状況で。ダメ英語で顧客へ異様な発言は非常に失礼な行動だと思います。

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamuojisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Hotel with 10-15 mins walking to Hakata station, free coffee welcome drink, close to metro station, sidedoor adjacent to mini store, reception staff helpful and know English with fast check in, 10-storey high building with small lobby, two lifts fast with good maintenance to each floor, room to room corridor bright, clean and tidy, bedroom to bedroom quiet without noise, big window face to office building without scene, double bedroom size good enough for two, although room facilities and furniture old but sufficient, bedding wide and comfortable but extra blanket need more cleaning, two small onsen relax but need avoid busy hour, staff are efficient during ramen hours, breakfast refill fast with Asian and Japanese choice, overall good to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dormyinnhakatagion, Front desk at Dormy Inn Hakata Gion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for staying at Dormy Inn Hakata Gion.
We are so glad that you were satisfied with our the location, hot spring and staff and you have a good stay in our hotel.
But I will pay more attention to the cleaning of the room.
We are so happy that you enjoy with us and compliments of advantage.
Also we will expect to you visit in here Hakata again. Hope you have nice day.
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion

Front desk
KIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Pro:
1. Excellent Breakfast Buffet - we really enjoyed the variety and quality of the food. The cafeteria staff is also very friendly. Will choose this hotel again just because of breakfast.
2. Hot Spring - A hot spring hotel inside city is a rare find. It even has outdoor hot spring. Not very crowded. Not sure where everybody else went at that time, I was able to enjoy the entire tub by myself!
3. Family Mart in the building - so convenient we don't even need a jacket to get out.
4. Free Shuttle to Hakata Station - this is only offered in the morning, but really helped us with heavy luggage and baby stroller.

Cons:
1. About 15 minutes walk to train station. On a nice day, probably a pleasant walk, but in winter, it was a brutal walk in the cold wind. If you have lots of luggage, it's also something to considered coming from the station.
2. Can't think of anything else!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckuo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dormyinnhakatagion, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Hakata Gion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you for staying at Dormy Inn Hakata Gion.
Breakfast serves delicious local cuisine.
It is popular not only for businessmen but also for travelers.
Our hotel operates a free shuttle bus to Hakata station only in the morning.
We operate every 15 minutes. Please use it when there is a big package.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Front desk
Kawakami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews