We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
203
261
63
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
261
63
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yamashita park cruise terminal great location twin room osanbashi pier beautiful park corner room walking distance few blocks the staff were extremely helpful non smoking room easy walk stay there again subway station red brick wonderful hotel pre cruise
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

This hotel is strategically located opposite the Osanbashi Pier, Yamashita Park.
Hotel Monterey is nearest to the Pier. You can walk to the pier for your boarding. But taxi would cost 720Yen only, more convenient with your luggage.
This hotel looks a bit sleepy as compared to other hotels, but I paid S$180 for a big room through Internet. Very comfortable and spacious with simple furniture of a 3 star hotel. True, a bit old. Clean and comfortable. Hotel Staff speak English and helpful if you request for help.
Additional features are Yokohama Chinatown is about 10 minutes walk away and safe.
Good Chinese cuisine, and there are lots of Chinese restaurants here. Very interesting to visit. Opposite the hotel is Yamashita Park where you can go for your walk or jogging. There are many tourist attractions around here. There are public buses that can bring to the business districts and other attractions. You pay a fixed price. Tourist tickets for whole day is available. Just ask the bus driver.They are friendly.
Coming to Yokohama for the first time is exciting. From Haneda you can board the public bus at 725 yen with your luggages to Yokohama. Alight at Yamashita Park, and walk 3 minutes to Hotel Monterey.
If I return, I would come back to this hotel again at this economical price.

Room tip: Book through Internet for Harbor View. To get best price for your hotel, need to track the daily price of the rooms.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DSSH2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monyok, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you very much for your stay with Hotel Monterey Yokohama with us.
And also, thank you very much for your reply about our hotel.
We are very happy to hear your reply.
It is very near to China town, Oosanbashi(cruise ship terminal)
,Motomachi-chukagai subway station,Yamashita park,from our hotel.
We hope to see you again,soon.
Front clark: Yoshioka 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I have recently visited Yokohama because of business and have been booked in this hotel. I found location so convenient in a great avenue close to Yokohama Harbour, and with motomachi-chukagai subway station just 2 minutes walking ago.
Hotel furniture and rooms quite old, with some rancid style. breakfast, by contrast, was high-quality with western and Japanese styles to satisfy any preference.
Hotel staff, as expected in Japan, very professional and corteous.
The best point in my opinion: Since october'17 a mobile smartphone was available in any room to use on your own discretion, included in hotel rates. It was so helpful when going around as you could use google maps, unlimited interned, and also Line app calls!

Given this last feature my hotel impression raises up and consider it globally as 7 points over 10

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monyok, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely stay with Hotel Monterey Yokohama!
And also we are very glad to hear you.
If you will visit in Japan again someday,
Please visit to Hotel Monterey Yokohama again!
Front: Yoshioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Just one night on the way to Airport.

Old run down place and rooms. Pillows were terrible.

Expensive and no breakfast.

Had wifi, if you have logged in on the group system, all automatic.

would not return, worst of the group we have used.

Room tip: expensive but good location
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monyok, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us the other day and your conmments. Please visit us again when you are coming to Japan. Thank you very much. Front clark Yoshioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

The triple was large enough for our family of 4 (2 small children). The harbour view was very nice and worth the extra money. The location was walkable from Kannai station JR. Plus there is a great soba restaurant about 4 buildings away (look on google maps).

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cookeetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monyok, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us . Also, thank you for your grateful comments. When you are coming to Japan next time, please visit us again. We are waiting for your next coming. Thank you very much. Front clark Yoshioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I stayed recently for 2 nights with my husband and teen daughter. We had a room on the 9th floor overlooking the harbour. Check-in was efficient, the room and facilities were good. We enjoyed a nice buffet breakfast with Western and Japanese options in the restaurant on the top floor, with a view of the waterfront. The location is a winner - close to subway, the baseball stadium, cruise port and Chinatown.
On the final morning, we checked out and left our luggage at reception while we further explored the area. One of the errands was to get a refund on our baseball tickets as the game on the previous night had been cancelled due to rain. We returned to the hotel reception desk when we discovered I had thrown the tickets in error, into the rubbish bin in our room. Reception contacted housekeeping. The room had been already cleaned. But in true Japanese style, not much time elapsed before the tickets were located. We were so grateful.

Room tip: Harbour views are best - try higher floors.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fairywings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monyok, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Yokohama, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you very much for staying with Hotel Monterey Yokohama with us. And also,thank you for your reply for us. We feel so happy to hear you! We hope to see you again,soon! Hotel Monterey Yokohama / Front:Yoshioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews