We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,468)
Filter reviews
2,468 results
Traveller rating
646
1,231
443
104
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
1,231
443
104
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsouth wingaeon mallpremier floorbusy hotellarge hotelgood sizeexcellent locationmain buildingconvenient locationkansai airporthotel restaurantsjapanese hotelsdepartment storetriple roomeasy accessyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 2,468 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

The location is their selling point its very near Kyoto Station which I would definitely recommend for anyone staying in Kyoto. We soon found that getting around Kyoto was harder than in other cities ( mainly by bus to many of the sites and sadly google maps would give us the bus details in Japanese...not much help to us) and luckily we were able to book a tour through concierge. Also they had many pamphlets and maps around which did give you advise on which bus to take so that was really useful. This was our most expensive stay on our trip and compared to the other places we stayed...the rooms were decidedly underwhelming. The bathroom somehow had a very clinical or airport feel and I couldn't stretch my legs in the bath (I'm 172 cm so tall, but not so tall that I shouldn't be able to). We booked this over other hotels anyway because of the location, and rather limited options compared to Tokyo, Osaka, Yokohama...If we had to do this over again, we would book to stay in Osaka ,where there are so many options at a really good rate, and book day trips to Kyoto which is pretty easy to do.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Wonderer_Fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

The location is great, within walking distance to Kyoto Station, making access to all the sights and airport easy.
Room and bathroom is cramped, but this is typical for japanese hotels.
Theres no need to pay extra for breakfast in the hotel, as there is so much to eat at the train station/Aeon mall next door.
There is no pool or gym.
Check in is strictly at 2pm.
Wifi is free and strong.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in cherry blossom season. We were in the South Wing- the newer part. The hotel is very big and busy with several restaurants. Staff helpful and plenty of people on the desk. There is a dedicated desk for checking in your luggage after check out. Hotel rooms very comfortable. Beds firm. Bathroom small but had everything you need. Breakfast is a buffet which has Western and Japanese dishes. A good range. Evening meal in buffet is good but quite expensive for Kyoto. The hotel is just opposite the railway station and convenient to transport on buses and trains. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

A large hotel with 2 wings. Clean comfortable rooms. Good size beds to stretch out in. The standard heated bathroom seats.
While a large hotel catering to tour groups you do have to go early to get setting in the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mars1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

No personal touches here. This hotel caters to all the tourist buses. Just to check in your have to que in the lobby and wait until 2pm check in time and not a moment before. So don't get there early. The hotel is 40 years old but holding its age. Rooms are quite large bed uncomfortable like a rock. No English speaking tv unless you pay for it. Breakfast ok, but again feeding the masses, kept running out of food and had to wait for it to be replaced. Facilities are good, handy to trains and restaurants, great little irish pub across the road. But would I stay here again, no. I would choose some where more personalised.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cbak748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews