We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
29
30
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
30
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese businessmen free breakfast top floor foreigners baths gion
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Once you get over the weirdness of this place this is an excellent capsule hotel. Here's the deal:
1) Wear your little outfit they give you with pride. Ignore the weird North Korean labour camp vibes and wear it when shuffling from capsule to locker, when moving between the floors and when at breakfast/diner;
2) Use the baths on the top floor. Get the lift up to the 6th Floor (using the little slippers available near the reception), get your kit off and put it in a locker, keep your locker key on your wrist and get involved in the baths. Have a shower first and then try the different baths. Don't forget the top floor - roof top sunbathing/weird, dirty water pool (intentionally dirty? Still not sure) and a TV showing baseball. Wicked.
3) Free breakfast BUT BEWARE! The eggs are not hard boiled - they are ready for a pan to fry. Except that isn't an option. So why are they there? Not really sure.
4) There are massages available, so be prepared to see overworked Japanese businessmen having their feet rubbed whilst reclining near the restaurant. There's a massage called 'The Rumor' - didn't have the nerve to get it. Curious to see what it is...
5) Each capsule has air con, a free bottle of water each day and an alarm.

What's not to love?!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank AlexBritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Great for a foreigner once you get used to the strangeness and the rules of the place which you have to follow. When I travelled here was the best price for the location which was perfect - right on the Main Street of gion.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Clean, spacious (regardless its capsule hotel), quite, friendly staff, nice and big bath (public), limited but private bath is also available, rooftop sauna and bath is a must. Overall for the price I really liked it even though its just for man only. Nice breakfast. Not possible place for family. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Happiness457719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

It is not an equal opportunity world and that is too bad for the ladies in this case. This is a male-only capsule hotel with a spa/sento (onsen), which can mean hanging around with a lot of naked Japanese men. I went on the weekend and it was not very busy. The location is very close to the major temples of Higashiyama in eastern Kyoto and having gone over the Higashiyama mountain three times, even without temples it would be great. It is also ideally situated in Gion, heart of tourist Kyoto. The capsule was very comfortable. Everything is thought of. I thought I had caught them out on missing a detail since there was not toothpaste in the wash area, although toothbrushes were provided...but...when I decided to brush my teeth anyway, the toothbrush -already had toothpaste on it straight from the package-. As for the sento (I am going to assume it is not actually an onsen, i.e. not a natural hot spring) it is fantastic. A bit smaller than some of the "super" sentos I have been in since getting here, but makes up for it in unusual facilities. First night I was able to walk in the snow on the roof and watch snow falling in Kyoto (naked of course), then get in the "medicine bath", then do the "salt sauna". One floor down there are jetted bathtubs, 42-degree (C) large pool, cool pool that I did not try, and sauna that was not unbearably hot, just right. The washing area is outfitted with premium soaps and great plastic back-scrubbing towels. The grooming area, premium hair products etc. Security seemed good although large suitcases would not be able to fit in the narrow lockers. Beds comfortable, some minor disturbance from other guests talking but nothing much.
Excellent buffet breakfast included, mostly Japanese style but bread and jam available (oh and boiled eggs). Nice stuffed ham slices, great Kyoto-style curry. Best citrus.
I walked from the train station to get here, I guess about two km, with the usual "take unnamed street" directions from Google Maps as applied to Japan. If travelling with luggage I suggest getting bus directions from the helpful info center at the station.
Combining this with the "Hoshi Matsuri", which must be one of Japan's greatest spectacles that hardly anybody knows about, a great weekend.
One minus that had a plus side, the upper floor was closed on the morning of checkout. The plus side is that this helped me leave, otherwise I might still be there!

The "sort of wear a bathing suit" part - for the bashful they seem to have swim trunky things you can wear - and note that while inside the hotel you lock up your clothes and wear a little suit they provide. They also provide socks with a big toe, always wanted a pair of those, now I have two pair since they give new attire every day!

Room Tip: They are two layer capsules, otherwise identical. If you are a cheapskate who can climb a bit, the upper ones are cheaper.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craxiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Stayed here two nights, and once you get over the weirdness of it, it's pretty great.

Capsule was spacious (I'm 6'1"), everywhere was clean, staff were helpful.

For the price (and the experience), I would recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ルーマプラザ, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sauna & Capsule Hotel Rumor Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Alex w
Thank you for staying at Capsule Hotel Rumor Plaza.
Thank you again for taking your time to write such a great review. We are happy to hear some compliments about our facilities and staffs.
We hope you enjoyed staying in Kyoto and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews