We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$227
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Centurion Cabin & Spa Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$785
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
216
471
123
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
471
123
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic bathfamily martthe ground floorpleasant hoteljapanese bathper dayrooms are smallday passbus routesten minute walkcoin laundryconvenience storejapanese foodjapanese hotel roomsaverage hotelaround the cornercomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015

The hotel room is on the small side, but it is quite usual in Japan. The staffs are very friendly, and again, it is quite usual in Japan. However, the location is good. We took bus No. 50 and got off right in front of the hotel. How convenient is that! Although we had to use anther bus stop to go back to Kyoto station, it was not that far by foot, 350m according to Google map. Other bus stops are near by as well. Besides, there is a convenient store and a supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheetaHsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We stayed three nights at this modern, well located hotel which is a short walk from the underground and if you don't have your luggage with you a comfortable 30 minutes or so stroll from the main train station.

The rooms are pretty small so you need to be tidy or else you will be falling over your luggage. The breakfast is good, it's as you would expect skewed towards a japanese pallet, but there is a fair selection of more western options.

I would happily stay here again, the aircon and wifi worked well in the room and being a little bit set back from the main road it was quite and easy to sleep

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Rather small rooms (almost no place for luggage), yet equipped with everything necessary. Free Onsen which is rather crowded during peak hours (20.00-23.00), yet still fun and relaxing. Location of the hotel is at downtown Kyoto at Karasuma-Shijo. Gion district is 10 minutes by walk, subway by 5 minutes. Definetly worth it and would come again!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tankkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Fabulous stay in my favourite location in Japan. We had originally booked to stay here for 4 nights. We stayed to use Kyoto as a base to reach other locations and extended to 5 nights upon arrival. The beds were comfy whilst a little on the small side. From the rest of the hotels during our stay it seems that an English 3/4 bed is standard for a Japanese double. Plenty of amenities no need to bring shampoo etc. staff at reception were helpful and informative, they have a volunteers travel advisor from Kyoto station to help you plan your stay in Kyoto, which is a considerate touch.

We ate breakfast once in the hotel, if you book in advance its 1300yen or 1500yen on the day. It is advertised as a Japanese and Western breakfast. Whilst I was happy with the selection, the western features were bread, chips and sausages. So if it's a western breakfast you are after ... I wouldn't recommend. Unfortunately I also think the price is too much for what was on offer.

You can buy a day pass for Kyoto buses for 500yen at reception. A taxi to Kyoto main train station costs about 1100-1200yen. We used as a base to visit Hiroshima and Himeji castle. Round the corner is the Main Street which leads to commercial shops and a little beyond that about a 25 minute walk from the hotel is the Gion district. Would definitely visit on an evening for food and shopping.

There is a tranquil traditional onsen at the hotel. This is separated into male and female. Very relaxing and open until 1am. As a word of caution it is Japanese custom to visit the onsen naked. In the relaxation area there are reclining massage chairs which are fantastic, up to date siatusi massage chairs which really work out the knots in your back.

The only down side is that the massage chairs are next to the laundry facilities and an area where you can chill out with a beer on an evening. Whilst it was never rowdy, on odd occasions it did take away part of the relaxation when other guests are talking around you. Hotel should also offer a water refill service to be more environmentally friendly. They have a water cooler in reception but it explicitly says not to fill up your bottle.

My niggles with this hotel are extremely minor, I just wish to paint a full picture. I would definitely recommend and go back to the hotel and Kyoto for another visit.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Ameliabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Great little hotel in the middle of Kyoto. Very close to bus stops where you can catch buses to Kinkakuji, Nijojo Castle, Gion, Fushimi Inari Shrine, and all the sites Kyoto has to offer. The hotel has its own public bath (separate baths for men and women) so you can relax after a long day of sightseeing. FYI, Most Japanese tend to take their baths in the morning before they go out in the morning so that's when the public bath seems to be the most crowded. The rooms are small (compared to US standards) and the bathrooms are pretty miniscule (you can easily touch all four walls by stretching your arms out when standing in the middle of the bathroom), but well laid out for efficiency. The entire hotel was very clean and peaceful and the staff courteous and professional. While the immediate area surrounding the hotel doesn't have much to see (although there is a historic lane right around the corner that you should see if you want to see how old Japanese neighborhoods looked like), it's not that far of a walk to the major shopping area in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AGuyFromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews