We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
US$34
View deal
Trip.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/21
eDreamsUS$34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
26
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This cosy guesthouse is in a prime location in the heart of Huizhou - a fascinating ancient town. We had a very restful stay here in between visiting some bustling busy Chinese cities and it was a great place to chill out. The staff are very friendly and helpful and Wendy, the owner speaks excellent English and can help you with restaurant and activity suggestions. Having access to laundry facilities was a bonus! We did visit Mount Huangshan - it cost us Y200 each way in a taxi to get to Tangkou.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This is an old style Hui home located within the city walls of Huizhou ancient town. We stayed in a courtyard room which was comfortable and clean, with its own bathroom. The whole residence has a nice ambiance and Wendy the owner/manager is really lovely and helpful. She speaks excellent English and is a great source of information on places to visit, restaurants, etc. The other staff are very friendly and warm. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other travellers.

Room tip: Courtyard room good for older or limited mobility travellers who don't want to climb stairs
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2017

1. BAD LOCATION: 49km to TangKou which is the base of Huangshan. Boss Wendy charged me Y4OO round trip from here to Huangshan "Yellow Mt".
2. Wendy hired a great INTERIOR DECORATOR. Very attractive inn.
3. POOR MATTRESS: 3 centimeters thick (1.5 inches).

Wendy doesn’t believe that Uighurs, Mongolians, Muslims & Tibetans should be entitled to self determination. Yet she's "artistic".

The “ancient city of She County” is a couple lanes. That's it. See it on a day trip but there’s no need to stay overnight in this town. It’s a full-on city with shops selling sexy ladies underwear to NewBalance copycat shoes, cell phones and 7-Elevens with warm Coca Cola.

I found Wendy’s place (September Huizhou Inn) as I searched for cheap lodging to Huangshan (Yellow Mountain). However, Wendy’s place is 49 km (30.5 miles) away from the starting point of Huangshan which is Tangkou. Wendy charged me Y4OO round trip just to get to Tangkou. Taxis charge Y350, so get a cab to Huangshan yourself and not through Wendy.

GOING TO HUANGSHAN
My suggestion: do not stay @ September Huizhou Inn if your purpose is to see Huangshan.

Instead, stay in Tangkou, the foot of Huangshan. You’ll save on hassle and time from September Huizhou Inn. It’s even better to stay on the top of Huangshan. From Tangkou you will need to take a shuttle bus (Y1OO) to get to the admission entrance (Y23O to get in, plus cable car fees: Y8O one way). If you stay at September Huizhou Inn to visit Huangshan, you’ll be rushed. I left September Huizhou at 5:30am just to make the 7am entrance opening. The last cable car down from the top to the bottom is 5pm. So you won’t catch either the sunrise or the sunset coming from September Huizhou Inn.

So September Huizhou Inn loses in "value" because of its distance. Nice place, sensitive owner, but TOO FAR.

Room tip: They are all nice.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Here's what we enjoyed during our 2 Day stay:
+ Non-touristy destination straight out of a romantic Chinese film
+ Extremely helpful owner with great English skills (she also has a famous cat)
+ Fantastic value for money
+ Beautiful architecture (especially the roofs)
+ Cozy downstairs bar with old-school charm/character

Here's what we thought could have been improved:
- The initial greeting area is a bit messy and could be initially off-putting... then again, it kind of adds to the unique and authentic feel of the property

General Recommendations:
Make friends with the owner... she is amazing! Ask her for recommendations, as there are some really great (aesthetically pleasing and historical) locations nearby to explore on foot.

Overall:
We highly recommend the location and the hotel (hard to call it a homestay, although the owner does give it a personal touch) to any and all of our friends going to this region of China.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a rooftop view.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil_Naj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Best choice in our trip in China. Beautiful, charming, we felt like at home. The owner is lovely, she was very helpful with us all the time.
Tuvimos mucha suerte en encontrar este alojamiento, todo el personal encantador, atento y volcados en ayudarnos con el idioma y el viaje por China.
Habitaciones con encanto, tranquilas, limpias y acogedoras.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank crisdeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your warm comments. You and your family are very polite and give us a lot of feedback. We appreciate this kind of guests and look forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews