We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Breakfast”
Review of Cedar Spring Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Advance Mills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Spring Inn
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Fantastic choice. Pristine grounds and home. And yes, this was a home. Love and care were evident everywhere you looked. And the breakfast, amazing. We had to leave early on our last day, so we were only going to have fruit and bread. The fruit was a pear, cored and baked, sitting on an toasted almond fruit dip, covered with a raspberry glaze. The bread was sometype of nut bread with a fruit stuffing.Fantastic. I was thinking an orange or a banana. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All our great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank karenraecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

There is no way that I can't leave a 5 star review for The Cedar Spring Inn. The only problem we had was that we couldn't stay two nights. Aside from the impeccable house itself, Judy makes it a 5 star in the details. She makes you feel right at home with a tour and is willing to help with your plans. Our room was very comfortable and creates the perfect escape. The grounds and views are beautiful and spending some time in the pool and hot tub was a huge perk. I must say our favorite was her breakfast. So delicious and very filling! Well done! We can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rspennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

This was our first trip to Charlottesville area for my wife's birthday last weekend. Our stay here was excellent. I booked us a two night stay in the Garden room which is on the lower end of the house (inn) and is sort of disconnected from the main house. This afforded us a bit of privacy although there was a room above us where we can hear the occupants at times. The room was well appointed as you can see on their website. We immediately grabbed our robes and used the hot tub outside next to the pool. The mountain air and surrounding woods and mountains were so beautiful and relaxing. You then enjoyed evening wine provided by the hosts and can either chat with others or sit on the porch to enjoy a really stunning sunset view over the distant mountains and nearby hills. Breakfast of course was awesome: fruit plate for starters, then an entire loaf banana or strawberry bread, followed by your choice of entree (they print a new menu every day for you to choose from). All with fresh juice, coffee, or tea. This was our first B&B stay and Charles and Judy really set the bar high for wherever we go next.

Only minor issues that we had were that the wifi could not reach our room and the garden tub was a little hard to get out. Otherwise everything was great!

As for the area, Charlottesville is about 30 minutes away but they have tons of foodie restaurants to choose from (highly recommend Tavola although the wait can be long). The university atmosphere has of course a youthful, hippie vibe. They have an open pedestrian mall area that has music with lots of people shopping, eating, or strolling down. Outside the city you have Monticello and all the wineries (highly recommend Pippin Hill especially getting a table with the low adirondak chairs that overlook the area). Really a nice weekend getaway destination that we recommend for any couple.

Thanks Charles and Judy!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bensonc246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Judy and Charles are lovely hosts and the entire experience was well curated. From the beautifully plated breakfasts to the very clean and welcoming interiors, this experience was better than any 5-star hotel. No detail was overlooked and it was a wonderful home base for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank edeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This was booked as a surprise getaway and it was so worth the surprise. Our drive was about 2 hours and it was so worth it. You can easily miss the entrance with Google Maps or GPS. Just look for the house number. It takes you down a trail and opens to an awesome oasis of relaxation. The house is simply beautiful and very well kept.. Wonderful views and the sunset off the deck was breathtaking. We were welcomed by Judy and Charles (and wine!). They are great hosts. Our room - The English Library room downstairs was fabulous. Lots of space and the clawfoot tub was my absolute favorite. There's a fireplace in the room, snacks and drinks, sauna, hot tub, and steam room. Judy and Charles gave dinner suggestions in Charlottesville and winery recommendations on our way out. Both were spot on! Breakfast was exquisite as well. Fresh fruit, juice, choice of entree freshly prepared...I LOVED IT! You really couldn't ask for much more. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The English Library gave us access to the "family" area with tv, movies, and snacks. Ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_swalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cedar Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Spring Inn

Address: 1871 Frays Mill Road, Advance Mills, VA 22968
Region: United States > Virginia > Advance Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Advance Mills
Price Range: €145 - €204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic mountain views, luxury and gracious hospitality await you. Five spacious guest rooms offer a selection of comforts: beautifully appointed King beds, private baths with soaking or jetted tubs, romantic fireplaces, private patios, private entrances. Spacious common areas feature massive fireplaces with abundant decks and patios. A country retreat on thirty-six acres of meadows and woodlands, river and stream. Unique for the special amenities of pool, spa, sauna, steam room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Spring Hotel Advance Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing