We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$156
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$142
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
112
3
2
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
3
2
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roombaked eggsb b'sthe blue ridge mountainsrelaxing stayextra toucheshomemade breakfastva countrysideour honeymoonsliding doorcommon areasbeautiful propertyfirst morninggreat roomshort drivefresh fruithosts
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

There is no way that I can't leave a 5 star review for The Cedar Spring Inn. The only problem we had was that we couldn't stay two nights. Aside from the impeccable house itself, Judy makes it a 5 star in the details. She makes you feel right at home with a tour and is willing to help with your plans. Our room was very comfortable and creates the perfect escape. The grounds and views are beautiful and spending some time in the pool and hot tub was a huge perk. I must say our favorite was her breakfast. So delicious and very filling! Well done! We can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rspennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

This was our first trip to Charlottesville area for my wife's birthday last weekend. Our stay here was excellent. I booked us a two night stay in the Garden room which is on the lower end of the house (inn) and is sort of disconnected from the main house. This afforded us a bit of privacy although there was a room above us where we can hear the occupants at times. The room was well appointed as you can see on their website. We immediately grabbed our robes and used the hot tub outside next to the pool. The mountain air and surrounding woods and mountains were so beautiful and relaxing. You then enjoyed evening wine provided by the hosts and can either chat with others or sit on the porch to enjoy a really stunning sunset view over the distant mountains and nearby hills. Breakfast of course was awesome: fruit plate for starters, then an entire loaf banana or strawberry bread, followed by your choice of entree (they print a new menu every day for you to choose from). All with fresh juice, coffee, or tea. This was our first B&B stay and Charles and Judy really set the bar high for wherever we go next.

Only minor issues that we had were that the wifi could not reach our room and the garden tub was a little hard to get out. Otherwise everything was great!

As for the area, Charlottesville is about 30 minutes away but they have tons of foodie restaurants to choose from (highly recommend Tavola although the wait can be long). The university atmosphere has of course a youthful, hippie vibe. They have an open pedestrian mall area that has music with lots of people shopping, eating, or strolling down. Outside the city you have Monticello and all the wineries (highly recommend Pippin Hill especially getting a table with the low adirondak chairs that overlook the area). Really a nice weekend getaway destination that we recommend for any couple.

Thanks Charles and Judy!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bensonc246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Judy and Charles are lovely hosts and the entire experience was well curated. From the beautifully plated breakfasts to the very clean and welcoming interiors, this experience was better than any 5-star hotel. No detail was overlooked and it was a wonderful home base for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank edeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This was booked as a surprise getaway and it was so worth the surprise. Our drive was about 2 hours and it was so worth it. You can easily miss the entrance with Google Maps or GPS. Just look for the house number. It takes you down a trail and opens to an awesome oasis of relaxation. The house is simply beautiful and very well kept.. Wonderful views and the sunset off the deck was breathtaking. We were welcomed by Judy and Charles (and wine!). They are great hosts. Our room - The English Library room downstairs was fabulous. Lots of space and the clawfoot tub was my absolute favorite. There's a fireplace in the room, snacks and drinks, sauna, hot tub, and steam room. Judy and Charles gave dinner suggestions in Charlottesville and winery recommendations on our way out. Both were spot on! Breakfast was exquisite as well. Fresh fruit, juice, choice of entree freshly prepared...I LOVED IT! You really couldn't ask for much more. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The English Library gave us access to the "family" area with tv, movies, and snacks. Absolutely wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_swalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

There are Bed & Breakfast Inns and then there is Cedar Spring Inn & Spa perched on the side of a hill in the beautiful Virginia countryside, serene and without peers. My wife and I survived the 11.5 hour drive from Seekonk Ma. but were weary and irritable when we finally turned off route 29 onto Fray's Mill Rd.
"We are in the middle of nowhere!" she said to me. "And there are no signs for this place!!" We drove on this narrow winding road for 2.4 miles as out Trip-Tic advised and then saw just a lonely little mail box with the number 1871 painted on it. A stone and dirt driveway leading past a small modest house was all there was to the left to indicate something good could still be waiting for us.
The driveway meandered down and around over a small bridge then up-up-up to the crest of a hill framed by a handsome brown fence and lined with a row of stately Cedar trees. We pulled into one of the 5 manicured guest parking spaces and then walked over to the magnificent country estate that we would call home for the next 6 days. Architecturally interesting and beautiful inside and out, this home bore no resemblance to other Bed and Breakfast Inns that we have stayed in. I would describe the style as contemporary country with huge hewn beams and stacked stone it was certainly a welcome sight for our tired eyes. Charles and Judy the Innkeepers were friendly and interesting conversationalists who readily shared interesting stories and opinions. The house and our room was immaculate and the breakfasts each morning were abundant and expertly prepared. What a way to start each day.
The property begs to be explored with interesting paths leading down to the river or to a rustic old log cabin located down in the woods on the side of the property. Interesting and magical at the same time. Talk about magical, the fire pit up on the ridge with a perfect sunset view finally giving way to an amazing blanket of stars was one of the highlight moments during our stay. Obviously I believe a day, a weekend or a week at Cedar Spring Inn and Spa is worth every penny that it costs and every mile you'd have to traverse to get there. This review has to conclude with the highest possible recommendation to seek it out then relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: There are no rooms that are not great!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank perl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews