We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lodge BordeBaker(Puerto Bertrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Monte Campamento Hostel(Puerto Bertrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Rapidos del Rio Baker(Puerto Bertrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
106
30
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
30
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschilean patagoniabertrandriverpuertoregionlodgejorgeaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed four nights at GBL with my wife and our kids (4,6 & 8 yrs). It was a great experience for all of us. The location is great as it is close to Puerto Bertrand, where you can buy groceries and most river or lake expeditions begin. Besides, GBL stands by the Baker River and it even has its own beach.
We are also greatfull to the staff as they were always warm and prepare nice food at the on premise restaurant.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank mauchovarela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful wooden cabins all facing the bluest blue river you have ever seen. Super comfortable beds, great dinner and very hospitable staff. Terrific value for the high quality. See if you can work out what the sign "No balancearse" written on the pontoon means - or is it there for humour??

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank enzuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Super nice place with friendly & helpful staff, excellent food and comfortable cabins. And this is all set in a beautiful location along the river. Near the point where the two rivers come together and about an hour drive from Patagonia National Park. I definetely recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Marijn1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Wood cabin by a beautiful river. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Quiet and beautiful place. Cabin choices range from single rooms to small houses with three bedrooms. Town houses and houses have kitchens in them but you have to either bring your own stuff or shop from the nearest town which is a few kilometers away. Perfect for families, couples or even alone travelers that want peace. Have wood heated hot tubs with river views. Restaurant has very good food and a separate dining area for private groups. Don't forget to look at the stars at night - star light, star bright...

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank G3_maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stayed two nights in this lodge and had one dinner in their restaurant.
Upon arrival we needed to read a whole list of instructions and rules about the hotel.
The cabins are constructed for various guest (family) sizes.
We had a 2-person cabin, which allowed the sleeping area to be on a mezzanine giving the sitting/dining/cooking area below a high floor to ceiling height, making it appear more spacious, light and having a forest view.
Downstairs 22 m2, from which stairs and bathroom 5m2. Upstairs 9 m2.
From the outside deck sitting area (12 m2), we could get a glimpse of the blue water of the Rio Baker through the trees. For a good view, one needs to walk down to the river's edge.

Very quiet location. Only in the early morning, you hear the first trucks going over the Carretera Austral

Cabin is well fitted with kitchen and two gas heaters, TV. telephone and wifi. You need to bring all your grocery supplies if you want to eat in the cabin and there is no shop for many kms, although we didn't check the possibilities of getting groceries at Puerto Bertand, just 3 km away. However, from what we saw of the village, I doubt there are many grocery stores or a good restaurant.

Interestingly, if you do not choose the set menu in their restaurant, you need to pay CLP 5000 extra for having something else made.
Dinner was reasonable and breakfast oke (standard).

From this location, we were able to drive to the Valley Chacabuco, the northern part of the Parque national patagonia, to see the guanaco's. Starting early enough, one would have time to do the 1 hour walk, but the other two walks are 15 and 22 km, making really camping or hotel stay at the (expensive) lodge necessary. Instead, we returned to do raftng in the late afternoon on the Rio Baker.

At this location you need to be sure to have sufficient petrol/diesel since the next option to fuel is Cochrane.

Room Tip: The cabins are for different family or group configurations.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews