We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
114
52
33
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
52
33
10
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016

First, the views here cannot be beat. It is a bit outside Puerto Rio Tranquilo (about an hour), but it is worth it to wake up to the incredible views here.

Also, the rooms are so comfortable. They are all individual and self-contained. You don't hear your neighbors, and you feel like you are in your own home in Patagonia.

The staff are excellent. Anything we needed, we just asked and it was taken care of. Several languages are spoken here: English, French, German, Spanish.

The dinner is excellent. It is $25 per person, but it is worth it. Again, beautiful views while you eat, and the food is great. Something different every night, but prepared beautifully.

We were so happy staying here. We will definitely stay again when we return to Patagonia. The views!

Oh, to note, as in most of Patagonia, rooms are heated by stoves. It gets nice and toasty during the evening when they are on. It is a bit chilly in the morning (again, it is Patagonia), so just have a sweater or coat handy and maybe some slippers, too. Also, for this reason, I recommend showering at night (so it's not as chilly when you get out).

Only thing that could be improved is the breakfast. The baked goods are delicious, but we only had eggs on one of three of our mornings. Most places serve eggs standard. Also, coffee is instant (as in much of Chile).

Final note, Chile is expensive. Yes, in most of Central and South America, you expect a palace for ~$120 per night, but this place is great for the price in Patagonia. And we actually thought our rooms were wonderful (again, the views themselves are incredible).

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KateNYC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We had booked here in the Treehouse for two separate nights. A spacious room of about 20 m2 with fireplace, firewood and chairs. The bathroom is 3 m2 and it has a nice balcony of 14m2 with a passage alongside the cabin of about 6 m2. There is an extra bed in the top of the room, but climbing the ladder would be a challenge for some people.
Under the treehouse is a pick-nick table.
There is a wide variety of accommodation types on the grounds, each with different prices and facilities, but all have a great view over the lake.
One evening we lit the fireplace after we came home drenched from the rain.
We were away on the two-day Glacier Leones Camping and explorer tour, therefore we had two separate nights in this treehouse.

When I observed that the cold water tap did not work in the sink, Phillippe gave a very lengthy ($*&^%) storey why he could not repair it in one day.
The restaurant is in the main building, also with a great terrace in front.
The evening we came back from the glacier camping tour we had arranged for a hot-tub, which was superb with a bottle of wine and the sun going down over the lake.

After the fantastic, intense, beautiful Glacier Leones Camping excursion we observed that the crampons were old and of bad quality, and Philippe should buy better crampons to walk over the ice. However, Philippe gave us a lengthy (#$%^&*) story why he had lend out the good crampons to professional people.
Considering we had booked several months in advance he could have arranged for some better equipment; it almost spoiled our glacier walk.

Room Tip: Study the various options as many different types of accommodation exist
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Nice place, very nice and fully recommended by the high quality of its services and activities offered, especially for mountain and adventures lover.
Thank you very much Terra Luna Lodge by the experiences you gave us !

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This hotel was booked for us by an agency. According to the manager the cost was 140 usd a day included breakfast. For this amount you may expect wifi on your room and a television a decent room and a decent breakfast. There was no tv but that is for us no problem, we never watch tv. No wifi in the room was bad. Only in the restaurant but it was so weak that internetting or sending an email by mobile was hardly possible.
We had the 'boat' on land, Pirate. A nice cosy room on the first sight. But unsuitable for people with walking problems (stairs). Walking on the deck and I broke almost my foot because the wood was rotten. For long people unsuitable because of the low ceilings. The cold wind came through the walls and between windowpane and wood. No window was easy opened or closed, some could not be closed so we made an improvisation .The room was dirty inside (dust and insects at corners and aside of the bed. The towels probably only washed on a 30 or 40 degrees short (smelly). The shower is small and the curtains come gluing on you. You can't sit properly on the toilet. We need to fix the gasheater for hot water. The windowpanes needed a wash badly. And worst of all: our last night, it rained cats and dogs and it leaked badly so the camerabag and camera inside soaked!

Then the breakfast. No real coffee, but instant. There was a nespressomachine but that cost 4000 pesos or 4 dollar. The bread was old and toasted with lots of black. The ham and cheese were tasteless and even foul. The plates with the pieces are put on the tables a long time and probably reused. The second day we returned the ham and cheese, got a new plate, also bad and the servants growled. The third time the manager hmself checked the fridge and gave us new ham and cheese and that was delicious. But all the other guests got the foul stuff. The fruit served was not ripe or not available without excuse or substitution.

Every day we are asked for the dinner. We didn't do that because when the breakfast is bad. our expectations for the quality of dinner are low. Moreover; this could only be paid in dollars (25) and not in the national currancy). You can pay with visa but that didn't work for other guests all the time we were there. My suspicion is that they don't want the taxes know about their moneyflow and the dollars are immediately brought abroad.

The toilet in the restaurant had on day 2 no toiletpaper in the ladies. After I reported, the servant got the toilet paper from the mans. On day 4 I went again. The toiletpaper was almost finished and no reserve. The same dirt in the pot of day 2 was still there.

The servants were unpolite, unwilling and seemed to hate to work here. I can imagine.
There was a sauna and jacuzzi but you must pay extra for it and I heard a tourist complain that the water in the jacuzzi was cold.

I have not seen happy faces from tourists during breakfast. I saw groupmembers ask for more bread and they got each time a very small quantity so after dividing there were still people with no bread so they must ask again.

The environment is beautifull, when the price was not more dan 40 usd for the room we would have been hapy enough, And they had lovely cats with kittens.
It could be such a fantastic place for a holiday when it was more hospitable, value and less greedy.

We bought our drinks in the supermarket and eat in other restaurants. There was a nice one in Puerto Guadal itself, 1 km further.

Room Tip: Ask the boat for privacy but check the value for the price and check the neccessary reparations.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank extravacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terraluna, Propietario at Terra Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Is this supposed to be a horror story?
Let me tell you a couple of things so you can have a better experience next time you travel and surely a better life by the same way:
-First talk and then shoot!"!!! If you have ANY problem with your room you could inform and ask staff or even myself, during your stay so we could give you a solution. For 3 days you never mentionned any room problem. Following passengers of the Pirate had a very different attitude. They came to me and showed the leaking problem, so I could fix it. And that's altready done!!! As a result they had a pleasant holiday, new friends and we both are thanksfull of the other.
-Do not lie!!! You will pay for it one day or the other.... Any other passenger can testify that NESPRESSO coffee costs 2000 pesos and NOT 4000 as you say. Any other passenger can testify that you can pay the bill in pesos if you want! By the way if you pay by credit card it will be automatically in pesos... Sometimes telephone signal is deficient and this affects internet speed and the use the credit card machine , but this is not our responsability neither "secret plan", and you can pay by any other means and/or money.
-Inform yourself and do not manipulate trip advisor members!!!! TERRA LUNA is the cheapest lodge around. Check prices!!!! Please do it!! If we are still not in your budget and this will stress you at all time, do not choose us, it will be better for all of us!
-Do not presume!!! You can NOT talk and less judge about a service you did not try! (diner). Evening staff is different from morning staff by the way...
-Be open to different experiences!!! If a lodge price depends only on a TV and wifi on the room, I think you simply travelled the wrong place... Go to NY ,Paris or Sydney (and you will pay for it as well as for the sauna! ) but respect the fact that we are in a powerfull nature and DO NOT WANT to put a TV in the rooms. We have a special TV room for fanatics. TV in a room his is a worldwide "standard" and we want our passengers to live a different experience and "Patagonian lodge" experience which means, sleep in a tree house o in a boat, share dinner with other guests around a wood fire stove (you did not), take a hot tub facing the lake (you did not), enjoy our impressive view and sunsets (did you?), or do an incredible and unique excursion (you did not), have a drink in our nice terrace (and not in the supermarket!), know a bit more about who we are , what we think, what experience or message we try to communicate, but once you shoot, we can't smile anymore, cause we are dead!!! And that can maybe explain some behaviors...
-When travelling, be conscious of differences and limitations!!! Working in such a different culture, remote area, employing local people (only 4 month a year) can mean that some things are not expected to be "perfect", but nothing that can not be fixed with a talk, a smile, a handshake, a corrective action, a compensation, a meeting with the manager or any other solution. Despite of our limitations we have good intentions and disposition.

So sorry to tell you that can not accept such comment from someone who is qualifying services he did not used, presuming things that are not correct, changing the prices of our services in order to convince people not to come, and did never try to talk to the manager to solve its problem during its supposed "terrible" stay.... but instead a sacarstic comment in our guest book "see trip advisor" soon.
What for??? Too late! We want to hear from you and make your stay pleasant while you are with us, not once you're gone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We spent one night at one of the lodges at Terra Luna and we had a fantastic view over the lake and the mountains. The lodge/cabana was big and very cozy, once we have started the fire the atmosphere was just great and romantic. Very well furnished, with all the comforts and, despite being next to the restaurant, quiet.
The resort offers also a spa and sport activities, so it is highly recommended either for a romantic getaway or an adventurous short trip in the area.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms/lodges offer a view on the lake. If you can choose, try to be as close as possible.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Spery_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews