We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$100
View deal
Booking.com
US$120
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$97
View deal
PricelineUS$120
Hotels.comUS$100
TravelocityUS$100
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
249
199
136
50
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
249
199
136
50
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews f b whale watching sri lanka weligama beach restaurant staff sea view deluxe room breakfast and dinner private beach tuk tuk jacuzzi kamal surfing waves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2019

Our room was outside of the main hotel....across a small street. We joked between ourselves saying that our room was in the "staff quarters".
The reception staff were cold - seeming focused on other issues rather than genuinely greeting us.
The staff at the pool area seemed very disengaged. Trying to get their attention for towels or to order drinks was difficult. One day we had to wait about 20 minutes for towels as they said "the towels are being dried now". Another day a staff member came to us 3x and said "the pool area is closing today at 5 pm for maintenance". We were very disappointed but more so after we learned that only a few of us had been told that and at 5:30, many other people were still by the pool with no maintenance taking place at all. We were so surprised to see staff walking by dirty dishes and just leaving them there.
The buffets are average. Be prepared to be asked many times, by many different staff in the dining room for your room number. We were asked 4x during a 30 minute breakfast. IT has potential but requires great leadership and staff training to get it to the next level.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senani P, General Manager at Mandara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thankyou for your review. We are disappointingly surprised over your experience which was not whatsoever what we want to offer to our valued guests. We convey our sincere apologies in this regard. I have discussed this encounter with our staff concerned to identify the draw backs in respect of your concerns to ensure that such nature of behaviour of our staff will not recur. With regard to your comment on our pool being closed, sudden maintenance work had to be attended and we advised our guests to keep away to prevent them from being inconvenient although some guests opted to stay back.

We thank you for sharing your observations and we consider them constructive as we continue to enhance our product and services.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2019 via mobile

Was charged incorrectly for someone else’s usage. After informing the staff returned the money. Rooms are very nice and comfortable. But not too impressed with customer service.
Got the spa full body massage treatment and it was excellent.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SimplySolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senani P, General Manager at Mandara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Mandara Resort !

Thankyou for your review. We are concerned about your review and wish to express our apologies for have not met with your expectations on account of customer service. Your sentiments have been shared with our staff for necessary remedial measures. We acknowledge with grateful thanks your feed back which would contribute towards enhancing our service standards.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, it was the most expensive place we had paid for so was expecting a lot.
The place is rather run down, the rooms are big but need refurnishing and an upgrade. The bed wasn’t very comfortable and the air con didn’t work until we complained at reception.
The food is very average and the staff are lovely but very forgetful.
The pool area is nice and looking over the beach is lovely.
Considering this was double the price of some other places it didn’t seem worth it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RV707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senani P, General Manager at Mandara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Mandara Resort !

Thankyou for taking the time out of your day to post your comments. I was concerned to read that the service and the facilities you received during your stay have not met with your expectations. May we express our apologies on account of our shortcomings. I have discussed this encounter with the team members for immediate remedial measures and we acknowledge with grateful thanks that your valuable feed back will enable us to improve our service delivery.

While continuing to enhance our services and product we look forward to welcoming you soon again and will assure you the best stay experience at our hotel.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

Calm, quiet and comfortable room with plunge pool n partial sea view.Staff was very welcoming n helpful with everything . Overwhelmed with the hospitality of Mr.Sachin who went out of the way to please us..Thank u Mr. Sachin for making our stay comfortable n memorable.Very clean pool with breath taking view of Mirissa beach

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sethiaamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senani P, General Manager at Mandara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Dear Valued Guest !

Greetings from Mandara Resort !

Thankyou for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our hotel and our hospitality. We will share your sentiments with our staff members specially with Sachinthaka who have made your stay memorable.

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Mandara Resort.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2019

Great welcome and very specious room.Very clean. the breakfast was great and to top it up since it was independence day in Sri Lanka. We had more food to enjoy F.O.C.
Managers speech was so accurate was a little bit surprised how he remembered all of it.
All in all a Great place.Fantastic beach.Great staff.Well done.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrispererauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senani P, General Manager at Mandara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Mandara Resort !

Our fondest thanks for reviewing us in TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our food and hospitality. May I also personally convey my gratitude for your inspirational commend on my speech delivered on the National Day and your presence at this occasion was indeed appreciated..

Thankyou for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you to Mandara Resort soon again.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews