We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveller rating
657
494
177
82
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
494
177
82
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue bridal suite city centre lovely hotel designer outlet car park country house john barry four poster bed every member of staff bus stop full english cooked breakfast enjoyable stay breakfast was excellent short break stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a night here with wife Glenys in September 2018. Overall it was quite a pleasant experience although marred slightly by a piece of glass ( or possibly plastic ) that Glenys had in her starter for the evening meal. The waiter was quite apologetic but spoilt it by saying that 'these things happen' We were quite subtle in making the complaint as the dining room was very quiet apart from some appaling piped music-I think it was Matt Munro.The next day we raised our complaint and it was received in a more positive manner. Also found out at breakfast that the bar served a local cask ale something the waiter never mentioned to me the night before. Suffice to say that he is not going to be nominated for waiter of the year. Apart from this incident, the wake like atmosphere in the dining room, this is not a bad hotel. It has a night atmosphere excluding the Matt Munro songs and is in an excellent location. The park and ride bus stops virtually outside and seems to run on a regular basis, taking you to the City Centre quite quickly. A very useful service as York cannot be described as car friendly.
Overall quite nice but could have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninetyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

It's a nice hotel. Exactly what we were looking for - a combination of the charm of an old English inn and a comfortable and inhabitable place. The staff were very attentive. A personal email inquiring of yoour room preferences was a good sign, and the same attitude was exhibited throughout our stay. We had a room with a separate door to the courtyard, very nice feature. The room itself wasn't large but the ambience was fine. Wi-fi was good. We did not try their restaurant. The parking lot is conveniently located to the left of the hotel. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to the old town.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ron,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like we ticked all of the right boxes for you, which is what we strive for.

I will share your feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back.

Please do give Matthew a call on 01904 622099 to make your reservation.

Kind regards,

Irene Cossins
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

This was a last minute booking for 2 nights. It was easy fo locate on a main road. Car park at the side. It had a large lounge on the front. Restaurant waiter service. Good choice of food, food was hot and presentation spot on. If you wished for bar food it was available at the bar. Had a meal in the restaurant and a bar meal the second night, prices were spot on for a 3* hotel. The hotel room was large and comfortable with fluffy towels. Staff were attentive and helpful if you had any queries. Provided us with a bus time table. Booking in and out efficiently completed. Easy access into the town centre.

Room Tip: Advice staff if you are unable to climb stairs
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Floatbandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal.

I hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Please do call Matt on 01904 622099 and he will take care of your booking.

Best wishes,

Irene Cossins
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

I would have loved to give this hotel 5 stars, but I think it was somewhat let down on two accounts. My wife and I stayed there over 2 nights as part of a large wedding party. The staff were exceptional and the wedding reception in the evening was memorable both for the excellent meal and the general ambience of the place. Unfortunately the breakfasts left a lot to be desired. I had the 'full English' on both mornings, and on both occasions they were served lukewarm. On the first occasion the poached egg would have made an excellent golf ball, and on the second the scrambled eggs resembled a very dry overcooked omelette. As far as the hotel itself the rooms were comfy and well equipped, but ours looked very tired and our stay was somewhat marred by the pigeon trapped in the chimney (not the hotel's fault I know).

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank AlexHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Rooms small and in need of updating .appriciated an e mail a few days before our arrival letting us know a wedding was taking place during our stay and it may be noisy ,and we could move rooms if required . However it was no problem ,still had a peaceful nights sleep . Very ,very long stroll into the city centre , but on a good bus route .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sid027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews