We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Cornish welcome, cosy pub, lovely big clean room”
Review of The Poldark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Poldark Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Delabole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The lovely Kim welcomed us on our arrival for 3 nights and she is an absolute treasure!
She seemed to mainly run the breakfast operation single- handed and did so with a big smile and a 'no worries, me darlin'' for any queries. She was also so quick and efficient, as well as being very helpful about th local area and what to see. We both loved her!

Our room was huge and had a lovely comfy bed and was so quiet that we slept really well every night. There was a bath and shower ( nice as I prefer baths, husband prefers showers) and plenty of tea/coffee etc. in the room. Wifi was good and TV worked well too.

Breakfast was very good and we also ate twice in the pub, which had a friendly, cosy atmosphere. People always spoke to us and the barman wax always cheerful and friendly ( as was the very nice older gentleman with a white beard- maybe his dad? Friendly nonetheless!)

I only have 2 small suggestions for improvement:
1. Add that you do desserts/puddings to your menu, as because we didn't see any listed, we thought none were provided, then saw some being carried past us on our last night.
2. Extend the breakfast time. 8-9am is a bit tight, especially when you are on holiday and wanting a more relaxing start to the day. 8-10am would be so much nicer.

Apart from that - enjoyed our stay at The Poldark Inn - Thank you.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms, location is very peaceful ,10 minute walk and you can catch buses to Port Issac, Tintag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunpookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night at The Poldark Inn in Delabole, Cornwall. We wanted a base from which to get to Trebarwith Strand beach, one of our favourite Cornish beaches. The Inn has a sizeable car park and is a short drive from Trebarwith.
Our room was cosy, with a comfortable bed and excellent en suite toilet, bath and shower. The breakfast was a full English, done to order, and was good quality.The Inn does other meals but we did not have any of those as we were at the beach for the rest of the day.
The Inn also has some self catering apartments which have their own parking spaces.
I would recommend this place for anyone wanting a short break on the North Cornish coast as it is one of the most reasonably priced in the district for that quality.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vascosirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Visited August on 2 occasions and found the staff very welcoming and friendly. The decor is a bit dated. The menu had something for everyone, it was well presented and was good quality hence why we returned. Very popular with the locals. The prices were very good too. We had to book both times to make sure we had a table. Would recommend if you would like somewhere off the beaten track with good food and friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We ate here, lasagne and my companion had curry, both pretty uninspiring, clearly heated up. Bit disappointed that this is the third time in a few days that I have had iceberg lettuce, a bit of an underripe tomato and a couple of sprigs of onion and a slice of cucumber which qualified as a salad with my meal.

Room Tip: Stay here but eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Billie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poldarkinn, Owner at The Poldark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Billie, firstly thank you for your feedback. Having achieved the certificate of excellence for several years running we obviously care about our customers and their feedback. At the Poldark we offer no-nonsense and affordable accommodation and pub food and yes, our curry is pre-cooked in batches every two days, no different to most traditional pubs offering pub food. Both our waitresses and cashier did ask you whether you enjoyed the food and we are very sorry that you didn't take the opportunity to raise your concerns at that time. This would have helped us rectify the matter and we certainly would not have charged you. Anyway, we hope both this experience and the iceberg lettuce didn't spoil your stay in Cornwall and we look forward to welcoming you again back to our wonderful county. Thank you again Billie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

When you walk through the front door you think you've hit a time warp, it was like going into a WMC, very old fashioned decor.

We ate here on the first evening
which was different, you know it's not boding well when the Sarsons bottle comes on the table and the little tubes of sauces! The food was ok but short of refinement. Now onto the breakfast - the bacon and sausage where very cheap and we didn't like them, the second morning we went for something on toast instead of the full English which proved to be the better option.

The bedroom was simply furnished and very clean, however the quilt was far too thick for the time of year we could have done with a sheet instead of a quilt.

The bathroom had very poor water pressure and you struggled to get water out of the cold tap.

Would I visit again, that would be a DEFINITE NO!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poldarkinn, Owner at The Poldark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Heather, firstly thank you for your review. We have proudly achieved the certificate of excellence for several years running and we care about feedback such as yours. In that respect, we have many customers that return year on year. We offer affordable accommodation and traditional pub fayre in an otherwise expensive region of Cornwall. May I also add that It is very clear from the pictures on our website regarding our facilities. In addition, you were actually invited for your feedback several times during your stay but you actually elected to say nothing giving us no opportunity to redress your concerns. We would have gladly addressed your concerns and cancelled your reservation without further charge. Anyway, we sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Poldark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poldark Inn

Address: Treligga Downs, Delabole PL33 9DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Delabole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Delabole
Price Range: €76 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poldark Inn is a family run Pub set in a very tranquil location. We provide affordable Bed & Breakfast and One and Two Bedroom Self Catering Accommodation on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast.All major attractions on the coastline are easily accessible and the location is also linked by footpath to the stunning North Cornwall coastal path.The Bar is open from 6pm each evening and provides meals and drinks at very competitive prices for this area.Pets and Children are welcome and given our competitive prices, we strongly recommend that you book early over peak seasonal periods to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Poldark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing