We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you to all the team for a very memorable wedding day/weekend!”
Review of Horetown House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foulksmills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Horetown House
Ranked #1 of 1 Foulksmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you to all the team for a very memorable wedding day/weekend!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding last June at Horetown House and Kate, Bernie, Tom and all of their wonderful team helped to make it an extremely memorable experience. From word go, Kate ( the wedding co-ordinator) was always available full of advice and help to aid us in organising the weekend. She provided us with contact numbers for local services that we needed for the day. As we had family travelling from overseas we decided to hire Horetown for three nights which helped us to relax the night before and wind down the day after. We had three babies in the wedding party and all of our additional requests (cots/food storage and babysitters) were accounted for which really helped the weekend to run very smoothly. The food on both the wedding day and the BBQ the following day was outstanding with much of the food being locally sourced. All in all, the experience we had at Horetown House was superb which probably understates our overall opinion. Thank you once again Kate, Bernie, Tom and all of the staff at the stunning Horetown House for making our day as special as it should be.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    10
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were married at the Horetown House on September 10th. Kate, Bernie, Tom and staff put together a perfect weekend for our special day. They were open to all of my ideas and helped us put together a slightly unconventional outdoor ceremony on an unusually windy day for the season (leftover hurricane winds). We had a mix of American and Irish guests to accommodate and accommodate they did. Everything was beautiful and elegant right down to the finest details - details I hadn't ever thought of. The setting is out of a fairytale picture book. The accommodations were lovely; each room has its own special character and details. The food was delicious. and the staff...well they were the best anyone could ask for. Any problem that needed to be solved or detail that needed attention, they took care of with wonderful grace. You can really tell they put their hearts into the Horetown house and it is a labor of love for the White family. Everyone said it was one of the best weddings they had ever been to. It was above and beyond our expectations. Thank you thank you for giving us a dream wedding.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jblif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just back from a fabulous 2 night stay at Horetown House in Wexford. It was my sister in law's wedding. The house is just fabulous, a magnificent building both inside and out. It is like stepping back in time, yet the decor has all the modern necessities. Each of the 10 bedrooms are unique and fabulous. We stayed in a family room as we had our young son with us and upon entering the room I was stunned at the level of luxury and opulent decor on show. I wish we could have taken the beds home with us as they are of the highest quality, in fact - everything is. From beginning to end the staff were amazing and had a magic knack of letting us get on with things as though it was our own home, yet magically appearing when we needed something. They really could not do enough for us and went above and beyond what you would expect. I will never forget my stay in Horetown house.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lukesmom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My husband and I, and our families and friends, enjoyed a fabulous wedding reception and weekend at Horetown House in June 2010. Not only was Horetown House itself beautiful; full of character with glorious surroundings, Kate White was a fantastic help in organising everything. Nothing was too much trouble and she made the whole event so much easier for us. She, Bernie and Tom White, and the members of staff at Horetown House worked extremely hard to give us a lovely and very memorable weekend. They made everybody feel heartily welcome and showed great kindness to my elderly grandmother. They even managed to provide a whole weekend of sunshine. And a special mention goes to Tim Phelan, the chef, for the wonderful food. Thank you all so much. Cliodhna McGuire and David Doyle.

Room Tip: Just ask Kate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cliodhna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

this was my first time in a country home and i was truely blown away by the high standard of service, impecable food, cleanliness, unique decor and overall treatment we recieved. There was a rare sense of homeliness and the people we met went over and beyond their call of duty. Every aspect of our weekend was outstanding and i would highlyreccommend this stunning venue to anyone seeking beauty, class and a one in a million experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemariew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foulksmills
9.1 km away
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
Horse & Hound Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballinaboola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
15.7 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
17.0 km away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
5.8 km away
Brookvale
Brookvale
#2 of 4 in Wellingtonbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horetown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horetown House

Property: Horetown House
Address: Horetown, Foulksmills, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Foulksmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foulksmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horetown House is a 17th-century country house in Wexford. This family run 10 bedroom house is a historic country home, restored to its former glory with sympathetic modern additions, luxurious rooms, original Drawing rooms and with a full bar located in the original wine cellar, serving a menu of modern and rustic meals. We host dinner upstairs in the dining room on special dates throughout the year and cater for private parties. Horetown House is available for weddings and private house takeovers, also family occasions and general celebrations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horetown House Foulksmills, County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing