We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
49
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread restored house stayed longer lamb one night welcoming hosts next morning organic farm full irish other guests on arrival gorgeous property sheep helen cattle orchard ireland
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We sadly spent just one night here but I would have gladly stayed longer if I could. This is a beautifully restored house in glorious countryside away from traffic and noisy city life. The house is lovely and homely and our hosts were welcoming and friendly. We had coffee and brack on arrival and chatted to our fellow guests and hosts which was a lovely way to settle into the country life. The farm itself is just lovely - horses, sheep, cows - all so happy too. Our room was charming - old style with lovely window overlooking the farm and garden and the bed very comfy. Shower and bathroom were very good. Oh and we had a lovely vase of sweet pea on the dressing table with its lovely scent - a real touch of nature. Breakfast next day was delicious- home made granola and plums, yummy free range eggs and homemade bread. We lingered at breakfast for ages with the other guests and our hosts and had several coffees as it was very good as was the home produced apple juice. Our hosts were very kind and we enjoyed every second of our stay here in this lovely place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

we're always happy to hear that guests enjoyed their stay - we hope you'll be back before too long....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This period house has great character. It has many beautiful artefacts is furnished very tastefully. Helen & Christopher are so welcoming, helpful & efficient. Great coffee,home made brack & chat on arrival in the gorgeous conservatory. They engaged in conversation enthusiastically & were interesting to talk with on a variety of subjects. They work this organic farm, having cattle, sheep, hens & bees. The charm & pleasure of our stay included tasting home made bread, honey & jam that they produce. Breakfast was exceptionally nice, including organic yogurt, granola fruit, eggs and succulent non- greasy sausages & rashers. The bed was a dream. Rustic views from the bedroom of grounds which are ideal for a peaceful walk. Room was very clean. Not wishing to be 'too picky' as this is an exceptionally pod B& B experience, more small toiletries & some night & early morning heating is suggested if the Irish Summer goes down to 10C.
Lough Bishop is convenient to local and historical amenities by car & cycle. It is a wonderful B& B, house, location & hosts. Very highly recommended.
Tommy...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a fantastic experience here recently with our hosts Christopher and Helen. From the warm welcome, beautiful surroundings, fresh tasty home cooked food from their farm, the relaxing fire side chats and the really wonderful tour of the farm next morning we came away feeling inspired and really delighted that we have chosen to spend a night here and hope to return for many more. A little hidden gem !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Caitriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Great to meet you both - hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Everything written on the other reviews are so sound. This place is an hidden heaven with an amazing environment. But above all, what makes this place so special is the way how Helen and Christopher engage with their visitors. They are, obviously, passionate about their house and its history. Since 2001, they have been working hard to make their home like the "home sweet home"'s visitors! Everything there is nice and welcoming : the walls colours, the beautiful paintings & water-colours, the wood fire, the entrance tiles, the wooden shutter in the room,the sash windows, etc They have pour so much energy and love in transforming this run-down house that it seems that you can get back its positive energy.I'd also like to mention their beautiful Irish Moiled Cattle, rare surviving indigenous breeds, grazing away in this peaceful environment and their Irish draught horses. Congratulations to them for so much dedication in saving this amazing place!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteJ762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

When visiting Ireland, I encourage you to either begin or end your trip at the Lough Bishop House near Castle Pollard, a short drive from Dublin. Helen and Chris will greet you with a warm welcome into their beautifully restored, pristine, home, now with an inviting conservatory, spreading lovely light About. Their organic farm, with Irish horses,moile cattle, sheep, chickens, etc., beautifully maintained, acknowledges you are, indeed, in Ireland!
Their hospitality, served up with a hearty breakfast created from their own berries, jams, eggs, breads and whatever else you want! If you let helen know in advance she will cook you a delicious dinner. For us we chose their own lamb and local vegetables.
We stayed here 4 years ago and it only gets better! After staying in many beautiful places in Ireland, Lough bishop and the Kelly's remain at the top of our list!!!

Thank you! Margo, Christina, and Richard

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alamos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

It was great to catch up with you again! One of the nicest things about running a B&B is all the great people we get to meet. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews