We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
49
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadrestored housestayed longerlambone nightwelcoming hostsnext morningorganic farmfull irishother guestson arrivalgorgeous propertysheephelencattleorchardireland
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a fantastic experience here recently with our hosts Christopher and Helen. From the warm welcome, beautiful surroundings, fresh tasty home cooked food from their farm, the relaxing fire side chats and the really wonderful tour of the farm next morning we came away feeling inspired and really delighted that we have chosen to spend a night here and hope to return for many more. A little hidden gem !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Caitriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Great to meet you both - hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Everything written on the other reviews are so sound. This place is an hidden heaven with an amazing environment. But above all, what makes this place so special is the way how Helen and Christopher engage with their visitors. They are, obviously, passionate about their house and its history. Since 2001, they have been working hard to make their home like the "home sweet home"'s visitors! Everything there is nice and welcoming : the walls colours, the beautiful paintings & water-colours, the wood fire, the entrance tiles, the wooden shutter in the room,the sash windows, etc They have pour so much energy and love in transforming this run-down house that it seems that you can get back its positive energy.I'd also like to mention their beautiful Irish Moiled Cattle, rare surviving indigenous breeds, grazing away in this peaceful environment and their Irish draught horses. Congratulations to them for so much dedication in saving this amazing place!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteJ762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

When visiting Ireland, I encourage you to either begin or end your trip at the Lough Bishop House near Castle Pollard, a short drive from Dublin. Helen and Chris will greet you with a warm welcome into their beautifully restored, pristine, home, now with an inviting conservatory, spreading lovely light About. Their organic farm, with Irish horses,moile cattle, sheep, chickens, etc., beautifully maintained, acknowledges you are, indeed, in Ireland!
Their hospitality, served up with a hearty breakfast created from their own berries, jams, eggs, breads and whatever else you want! If you let helen know in advance she will cook you a delicious dinner. For us we chose their own lamb and local vegetables.
We stayed here 4 years ago and it only gets better! After staying in many beautiful places in Ireland, Lough bishop and the Kelly's remain at the top of our list!!!

Thank you! Margo, Christina, and Richard

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alamos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

It was great to catch up with you again! One of the nicest things about running a B&B is all the great people we get to meet. Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Christopher and Helen were the most wonderful hosts.You can just feel the heart and soul of Lough Bishop House. They took the time to tour us around their farm and gave great recomednations that set us out on the prefect trip across Ireland! The best B & B of my holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

So glad you enjoyed your stay. We love Westmeath and the chance to share it with our guests is a real privilege.... hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Our last night in Ireland was spent at Lough Bishop House with Christopher and Helen Kelly. It was a perfect way to end our trip. The house is a wonderfully restored 1700s manor house. Every detail is perfect. There is a book showing every step of the renovation and it is amazing to see the loving, hard work put into every aspect of it.

The bedrooms were spacious and very clean and comfortable.Great night's sleep.

Christopher took us on a tour of the working farm on a cart attached to his ATV. That was the highlight! The views from up in the pastures are spectacular and we got very close to the Moiled cows and Timothy, the bull, and the sheep and two award winning horses and the chickens. Helen and their two sweet dogs came with us and both Helen and Christopher explained all there was to know about the farm, the animals, and the area.

We had booked the dinner because it looked like there weren't too many places to eat in the area. AND we were so glad we did! Everything Helen served was fresh and mostly right from the farm. All delicious! We ate with the Kelly's and the conversation was interesting and pleasant. A lovely evening. The next morning's breakfast was equally as good. Again, all fresh and delicious and plentiful.

From there is was an easy drive to the airport.

I highly recommend this B&B for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher K, Owner at Lough Bishop House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to share it with enthusiastic visitors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews