We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of Lough Bishop House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lough Bishop House
Ranked #2 of 3 Collinstown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Myself, husband and two small children stayed here for an overnight. We had a really relaxing stay in this beautiful home on a beautiful piece of land.
Helen was extremely helpful with providing for our needs as a family.
We dined at Lough Bishop that evening and enjoyed a really yummy meal which Helen had cooked with my dietary needs in mind and involved primarily home grown organic produce! It was great to learn more about the house and animals over dinner.
Our young son loved exploring the farm and meeting the animals and continues to talk about the experience.
Helen was the perfect host and we look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: The family room was perfect for us and fitted in an extra cot without feeling crowded at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as I was doing a triathlon which was very local to the B&B, at lough lene, the house is situated in a beautiful setting with the hosts being very welcoming and a delicious breakfast In the morning, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barneymccullagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My Dad and I stayed for two nights researching family history in the area. Not only was Lough Bishop House a beautiful, luxurious and welcoming place to stay, but Christopher and Helen went out of their way to help us with our research. They made enquiries on our behalf, recommended places to visit and people to speak to, and generally went far above and beyond the brief of good hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

What a beautiful place hosted by two very nice, friendly people. Helen and Christopher take great pride in their home and it shows. I am so happy they have decided to share it with everyone in the form of a B&B. We arrived late in the year and Helen had a fire going with tea and a nosh. From our conversations the place is almost completely self sustaining because of their hard work. The food was excellent and most of it, again, from right there on the farm. Give them a try if you can!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We arrived at Lough Bishop House on Easter afternoon. It was the perfect location for our first two nights in Ireland after flying into Dublin. It was only a short drive from Dublin and a world apart. The bucolic rural setting was postcard perfection. The Irish horses grazing, one with a new foal, the rare Irish cattle looking up at us, the chickens of every color, newly born lambs everywhere, Jack Russell terriers welcoming us along with Helen and Christopher. Tea was served and we knew we had found the perfect beginning for our 17 days in Ireland..Our room and bathroom were spotless and gorgeous. The fine linens lulled us to sleep. The Kellys found this heavenly place in a state of ruin and have completely restored it to its original beauty retaining the quality of workmanship and detail. The house is old but the windows and the plumbing work! Their taste in art and furnishings is flawless and gives the house a warm and comfortable feel. Breakfast was Irish and delicious. Helen and Chris make or produce most of the food at the farm and it is delicious and generous. For dinner they directed us to a small nearby town to a pub that also served delicious locally grown food. We liked Westmeath and enjoyed taking in the Irish Grand national horse race while staying at Lough Bishop. We stayed in some beautiful places during our trip, but nowhere did we find all the amenitites in one place that we found with Chris and Helen and the Lough Bishop House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alamos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lough Bishop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Bishop House

Address: Derrynagarra | Co. Westmeath, Collinstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Collinstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Collinstown
Price Range: €125 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 19th Century, Lough Bishop is a charming Country House nestling peacefully into a south-facing slope overlooking Bishop's Lough in County Westmeath, Ireland. Lough Bishop provides unique Country House Bed & Breakfast Accommodation owing to its wonderful location in the middle of a working organic farm. Breathtaking scenery in an unspoilt and tranquil setting, amid the rolling farmlands and lakes of Westmeath make Lough Bishop an ideal refuge from the hustle and bustle of modern life. There are family dogs in the background and animals play a large part of life at Lough Bishop House. Following extensive renovation this attractive Georgian Country Farmhouse offers its guests luxurious bed and breakfast accommodations, peaceful surroundings and fine food much of which comes from our own farm, garden and orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lough Bishop House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing