We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
49
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread restored house stayed longer lamb one night welcoming hosts next morning organic farm full irish other guests on arrival gorgeous property sheep helen cattle orchard ireland
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as I was doing a triathlon which was very local to the B&B, at lough lene, the house is situated in a beautiful setting with the hosts being very welcoming and a delicious breakfast In the morning, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barneymccullagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My Dad and I stayed for two nights researching family history in the area. Not only was Lough Bishop House a beautiful, luxurious and welcoming place to stay, but Christopher and Helen went out of their way to help us with our research. They made enquiries on our behalf, recommended places to visit and people to speak to, and generally went far above and beyond the brief of good hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

What a beautiful place hosted by two very nice, friendly people. Helen and Christopher take great pride in their home and it shows. I am so happy they have decided to share it with everyone in the form of a B&B. We arrived late in the year and Helen had a fire going with tea and a nosh. From our conversations the place is almost completely self sustaining because of their hard work. The food was excellent and most of it, again, from right there on the farm. Give them a try if you can!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We arrived at Lough Bishop House on Easter afternoon. It was the perfect location for our first two nights in Ireland after flying into Dublin. It was only a short drive from Dublin and a world apart. The bucolic rural setting was postcard perfection. The Irish horses grazing, one with a new foal, the rare Irish cattle looking up at us, the chickens of every color, newly born lambs everywhere, Jack Russell terriers welcoming us along with Helen and Christopher. Tea was served and we knew we had found the perfect beginning for our 17 days in Ireland..Our room and bathroom were spotless and gorgeous. The fine linens lulled us to sleep. The Kellys found this heavenly place in a state of ruin and have completely restored it to its original beauty retaining the quality of workmanship and detail. The house is old but the windows and the plumbing work! Their taste in art and furnishings is flawless and gives the house a warm and comfortable feel. Breakfast was Irish and delicious. Helen and Chris make or produce most of the food at the farm and it is delicious and generous. For dinner they directed us to a small nearby town to a pub that also served delicious locally grown food. We liked Westmeath and enjoyed taking in the Irish Grand national horse race while staying at Lough Bishop. We stayed in some beautiful places during our trip, but nowhere did we find all the amenitites in one place that we found with Chris and Helen and the Lough Bishop House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alamos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The beauty of the grounds and living quarters were only surpassed by the gentle, gracious and kind hospitality of the Kelly's. I would recommend, make that insist, to any travelers of the Midlands they should make it a stopover they will always remember.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews