We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quaint and Comfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatima House

Fatima House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Suir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fatima House
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Carrick on Suir is a great town to visit even in these difficult economic times and Fatima House is the ideal accommodation from which to experience the town and its hinterland. The house decor is old style and very comfortable. The rooms are large, nicely decorated and clean. Raymond is the main man, a great host, cheerful and very helpful. He is a fund of local knowledge and will gladly advise on where to go and what to see. Also his breakfasts are really outstanding, ranging from continental to a full Irish breakfast. We visit the town at least twice a year and without hesitation book into this B&B every time. In the past, we have stayed in other accommodation in the town but this is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

While Carrick-on-Suir is a town that is struggling with the current economy, we had a very nice time for our one-night stay.

Ray could not have been more welcoming and his trusty companion, Murphy, was a hit with everyone in our family.

We had two rooms, one for my husband and me and another for five of our children. Each room was perfectly-sized to accommodate us and the beds were very comfortable.

Our breakfast was fantastic. Again, Ray was kind and generous with information about the area and what a cook!

Thank you, Ray. We will continue hoping for an upswing in the economy.

Best wishes and thank you!

Room Tip: Don't let the neighborhood's down-on-its-luck feel turn you away. Ray's welcome will mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetPeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I can´t understand where´ ve you been "Noelsguitar"
It was terrible- steps all the night out of my door.
When I move, he goes down the stairs.Raymond ?? Or some ghost ?
The Waterboiler - dirty - black inside.
I was the only guest - a feeling like in a horrorcastle.
Never again !!!!!!!!+

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We stayed at Fatima House in late August for one night.

ARRIVAL:
We were greeted by our host Raymond on arrival, who was very welcoming and showed us to our room. Raymond also recommended some nice places to eat that evening and pointed us in the direction of a nice river walk not far from the B&B and the town.

ROOMS/FACILITIES:
Our Room was clean and inviting, we had our own coffee and tea making facilities, with a TV and ensuite bathroom. There we extra pillows and blankets if you needed them. The bathroom may need redecorating sometime in the near future.

LOCATION:
There was parking provided on site. Fatima House is a comfortable short walk to the town centre and the beautiful River Suir.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast was of a very high standard. All food freshly prepared and served beautifully. There was plenty of tea/coffee and 3 courses of food to get through. Eggs cooked to your personal liking and bacon and sausages were good quality.

OVERALL:
This B&B is very reasonably priced and we enjoyed our stay a great deal. We found the host and the accommodation to be very welcoming. Please bear in mind when considering staying here, that this B&B is not full of "mod cons", nor is it decorated in a contempory style. Its attraction are its original features and period decor. Its quaint and quirky and a fun place to stay. We would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Location, welcoming, Great host, fabulous breakfast.
  • Disliked — Noisy fan in the bathroom.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelsguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Suir
0.5 km away
The Carraig Hotel
The Carraig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrick-on-Suir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
11.9 km away
Aisling House Bed & Breakfast
13.1 km away
The Grand Inn
The Grand Inn
#1 of 2 in Carrick-on-Suir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
No photo provided
Rathgormack Hiking Centre/Hostel
#1 of 2 in Carrick-on-Suir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fatima House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima House

Property: Fatima House
Address: Fatima House 2 John Street, Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Carrick-on-Suir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Suir
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing