We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 20:00
Review Highlights
A day trip on Merlin

A trip on Merlin is a treat while on holiday on the Sheepshead West Cork. Take a day trip, weekend... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2016
Gerry K
,
Cork, Ireland
A fantastic experience on a lovely blue water yacht

My wife and I booked a one week Western Canary Island cruise and are thoroughly satisfied with our... read more

Reviewed 12 December 2016
226chmr
,
Malmo, Sweden
Read all 15 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
15
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2016

My mid-January sailing trip to the Western Canary Islands with Carbery Sailing was one of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences I've had in some 13 years of sailing. We were brilliantly looked after by Chris and Aideen on board Merlin, their spacious and well-appointed Hallberg Rassy. Down time in the very un-touristy La Palma allowed time to visit the island's 2,500 metre-high observatories (site of the world's largest space telescope) and a most interesting silk museum in the village of El Paso. A night sail (well, early morning) provided the clearest stargazing experience you could wish for. And throughout the week we had several sightings of whale pods and had many escorts from playful dolphins. It was a terrific sunny interlude from a miserable Irish winter as well as a great brush-up on rusty sailing skills. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Date of experience: January 2016
4  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2015

A really lovely afternoon's sailing with Chris & co - the weather on that mid June Sunday was glorious, showing off the Bay and landscape at its most beautiful best. We saw a minke whale and dolphins chasing herring (or was it mackerel?) - dinner anyway! Chris regaled us with great stories - so much so that I want to spend a few months in Sheep's Head and write a book! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank GrainneByrne299
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cforker, Owner at Carbery Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to review your time with us on Merlin Grainne. We certainly enjoyed sailing with you and enjoyed the craic. - Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a wonderful experience & I cannot speak too high of the boat, skipper & crew.
Please see my more detailed review on Google+
It is great value & a superb half day out. Chris & Mike manage to avoid turning what should be a relaxing holiday experience into a regimented endurance test & yet all the prudent safety precautions are meticulously observed & with style ! Thank you Chris, Mike & wonderfully favourable weather, winds & tides. JBD on 19/08/2014.

Date of experience: August 2014
4  Thank JBD_Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cforker, Owner at Carbery Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your sailing experience with Carbery Sailing. We are delighted you had a relaxing sail and what a great way to enjoy the majesty of Sheep's Head and West Cork.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I sailed today with Carbery Sailing and had a wonderful day. The weather was perfect, a bit of wind, but not too much. The yacht, the Merlin is spotless and so comfortable - Chris the skipper could not have been more helpful, informative and friendly. There were 6 of us on the day's sail and all had a wonderful day. I really recommend a day out with Carbery Sailing - go on treat yourself!

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank dee_bantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cforker, Owner at Carbery Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us, it is very much appreciated. Hopefully we'll see you on the water again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A wonderful day on a beautiful Hallberg-Rassy boat sailing in one of the most stunning places I've ever been. West Cork is a real gem. The day went by far too quickly with amazing views of dolphins, great views and lots of laughs. Chris and Mike are top and kept us well fed with delicious local food. I'm a big fan of Durrus cheese now and Julia's chocolate brownies. Thanks guys! Will be back for more!

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank SRoseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews