We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Official Site
US$165
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotelUS$185
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,085)
Filter reviews
2,085 results
Traveller rating
1,007
498
252
195
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,007
498
252
195
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviews johnstown house hotel salt restaurant leisure centre coach house bar bar food spa treatments afternoon tea steam room relaxation room next morning self catering thermal suite steak outdoor jacuzzi full body massage spa area top class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 2,085 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2020

We had a great time !

This is one of the nicest hotels we have been to . Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Dinner and wine was excellent in the lovely dining room . Really enjoyed the treat in the Gloss at the spa , we walked the beautiful grounds after breakfast. The service was first class , Well done to everyone, can’t wait to go back !

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank MaireadR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Gaynor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Johnstown Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Dear MaireadR39,
Thank you for your recent visit, all of our team will be delighted with you fantastic recommendation.
I am delighted to read that you found all aspects of your experience with us to be memorable.

MaireadR39, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Paul Gaynor
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed here recently on the Gloss Getaway package. We have stayed here on numerous occasions and could not fault it. Stay we’re brilliant. Food delicious as always. We had treatments, dinner in the Fire and Salt restaurant and afternoon tea during our stay. We pre booked everything due to covid. Felt very safe with staff wearing masks with an abundance of sanitising stations

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Gaynor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Johnstown Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2020

Dear Stephen K,
Many thanks for choosing The Johnstown Estate, and thank you also for providing this fantastic recommendation on TripAdvisor.
It is an absolute pleasure to read that all aspects of your stay were memorable.

Stephen K, your custom is greatly appreciated and we cannot wait to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely
Paul Gaynor
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Definitely recommend the one-bedroom suite for a bit of luxury during your stay! Beautiful hotel and surrounding areas. Be careful as the Fire and Salt restaurant is only open Fri - Sunday afternoon. Despite spending a lot of money for a mid-week stay the Coach House Bar was the only eatery open. We were given our inclusive four course meal there which we were disappointed about but overlooked. The food was the worst food we had had for a long time, meat/fish wasn’t fresh and poor quality, burger was burnt to a crisp etc. Breakfast in the restaurant and tea and cakes/scones during the day were all perfection. And the spa was 10/10.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jessicacF5793HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Gaynor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Johnstown Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2020

Dear jessicacF5793HH,
Many thanks for your recent visit to The Johnstown Estate.
Thank you also for taking the time to provide your feedback with us via TripAdvisor.

I would like to offer you my apologies for your underwhelming dining experience in our CoachHouse Brasserie.
I have shared your feedback with our Executive chef whom shall ensure corrective measures are implemented.
Our Bar and Restaurant opening times/days are available on our website www.thejohnstownestate.com.

I am happy to read that you really enjoyed your breakfast and afternoon tea.


jessicacF5793HH, thank you again for your feedback and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Paul Gaynor
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Service was fantastic, Staff were extremely friendly and ready to get drinks/assist at any stage! Lovely grounds to walk on after our meal! Definitely recommended. Hotel seems very nice and well kept as well, hopefully we shall stay here soon!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yupmeister69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Gaynor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Johnstown Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2020

Dear Yupmeister69,
Thanks you for visiting The Johnstown Estate for your recent dinner date.
it is a pleasure to read that you really enjoyed your dining experience and our fantastic team members looked after you so well.

Yupmeister69, we do hope yo can visit again soon for an overnight stay. Our brand new Spa is opening very soon and we have some great package offers available on our website.

Kindest regards
Paul Gaynor
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

Absolutely perfect from start to finish. Room was divine and spotless. Every single staff member was friendly & went above and beyond. Paul (manager) shauna & Megan to name but a few. We were an hour late for our breakfast booking, The manager on duty laughed and gave us our table with no issue! Cocktails were fab food was fab big portions aswell! The whole hotel vibe was brilliant... spa treatments were also amazing. Would return tomorrow if I could!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Navigator366757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paul Gaynor, Guest Services / Front Office at The Johnstown Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2020

Dear Navigator366757,
Many thanks for choosing The Johnstown Estate for your recent staycation break away.
It is most rewarding for all of our hardworking team members to receive such positive feedback, thank you for taking the time to publish this review on TripAdvisor.

Navigator366757, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Paul Gaynor
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews