We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
anagael
Newport, Mayo

Fabulous

Review of Cooneys Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2024
Popped in here on Thursday 16th with my husband and two children for something to eat. Food exceeded all expectations, the fish tacos were amazing. Steak sandwich is really decent. The nicest part of it all though was the waitress, a young girl who made a great effort talking to the kids and was so helpful. It is a cosy, traditional style bar with a really decent menu. We will know where to stop next time we are up that way.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Cooneys Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
lovely breakfast
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Cooneys Hotel
    2.8 km from Cooneys Hotel
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    29.2 km from Cooneys Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    32.0 km from Cooneys Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    22.1 km from Cooneys Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    17.6 km from Cooneys Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Ballymahon
    Reviews (237)
    Filter reviews
    237 results
    Traveller rating
    160
    42
    11
    8
    16
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    160
    42
    11
    8
    16
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews caesar salad well worth a visit royal canal center parcs josie funeral guinness
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 237 reviews
    Reviewed 29 February 2024

    Called in for something to eat, I ordered the burger and my lady ordered the vegetarian tagine,
    The burger was ok, but had a strange taste, maybe cumin not sure, and the tagine was basically a can of chick peas with tinned tomatoes, no couscous and bland, however on the plus side the staff where lovely

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Spider B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

    I attended a family meal in this hotel yesterday. It was a large party of different age groups. The hotel accommodated us at short notice and looked after us excellently from start to finish. The food - for such a big crowd - was excellent, and there was a great choice of food. The service was very good and the staff - in both the dining room and the bar - were very friendly and accommodating. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank speckybecky2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 December 2023

    The open steak sandwich is to die for, we have never had a nicer one! Absolutely worth the visit , very friendly and helpful staff too , fire was lit so the pub area was nice an cosy when we came in and it had a lovely atmosphere all round . definitely be back again .

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank B9624TLelainem
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 December 2023

    Food was terrible, tasted like it had all been reheated, even the chips. Everything came out within 4 minutes of ordering. Lasnge was very mediocre, beef the same and kids chicken curry wasn't touched. Disappointing

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Zarzigg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 December 2023

    I ordered the chicken and pasta dish. The waiting staff were polite but I didn’t leave a tip as the meal was served in a chipped bowl, the portion was very small, the meal was overpriced and the meal tasted bland.

    Room tip: I am unlikely to order from the afternoon/ evening menu again.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Joseph K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews