We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious”
Review of The Ballymore Inn

The Ballymore Inn
Price range: US$19 - US$46
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 September 2020

I've been to the Ballymore Inn a dozen times but yesterday I went with my family who were visiting. Every time I'm impressed. Yesterday was no exception,the service was impeccable and the food was delicious. I wanted to call out the chicken and sweetcorn soup they had on as a starter. I don't think I've ever tasted a soup as good. I hope they make it a regular. You're guaranteed excellent food in lovely surroundings here. They also have a cute pantry where I picked up some bits for dinner at home today :)

The only call out, they usually serve a delicious fennel oil with their bread basket and they didnt yesterday due to Covid. Maybe they could serve in a lidded container or something? Whatever is safest.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank clairelwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2020

We have been supporters of the Ballymore Inn for some twenty years. Recent visits have been in the context of Covid-19 restrictions and regrettably the food standards appear to have taken a downward turn ,particularly in the context of portion size,quality, price and value. Our steaks from West Cork appeared in minutes and were unacceptably thin -for 28 euro. We declined to have starters as the average price was about 13/14 Euro. Some chairs and furniture appear to be past their best- arms missing,no cushions etc.
One wonders why the meat is being sourced from West Cork, producer not identified on the menu, with excellent butchers in the Kildare area.
Time for the O'Sullivans to reconsider how they are treating their customers-if they wish to retain their loyalty, they owe it to them and their very fine staff.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Food
5  Thank kildare55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

Not up to previous
Food out in minutes (med well done steak)was it reheated????????
Portions very measured
Not value for money/overpriced

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Q2823MQglennr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2020

It was great to go after months away . The food was delicious as always . But I have to say the prices have gone through the roof 35 euros for a steak .

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2020

Had a lovely family lunch here in the last few days. Great to have it reopened. Food as good as ever but prices gone off the radar. understand that some tables had to be removed to follow covid guidelines but €21.25 too expensive for a main course at lunchtime. it just means customers will not be able to visit very often. a pity.

Date of visit: July 2020
3  Thank sarahbF7529HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ballymore Inn also viewed

Hollywood, County Wicklow
Sallins, County Kildare
 

Been to The Ballymore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.