We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing place to stay with a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Harbour Cottage on the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour Cottage on the Beach
Cottage in perfect location beside harbour, beach and rock pools Another stress-free day in Portnoo !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Harbour Cottage on the Beach
Cottage in perfect location beside harbour, beach and rock pools
Another stress-free day in Portnoo !
Sitting-room with wood burning stove and magnificient views
Panoramic views from sitting room
Games/dining area with views out to sea. Full-size table tennis table and selection of board games
kitchen with all mod-cons
Seating area in kitchen
Bedroom number 2 with wash hand basin
Harbour with cottage in the background
Access to cottage from harbour/beach
Harbour with cottage in background
Cottage on left,  beach and harbour
View of harbour from patio
View from garden
Jumping off harbour wall!
Patio area
Portoo sailing club
Sailing
Front of cottage
View from the cottage
Ever changing colours in Portnoo - a painter's paradise!
Ready for a days sailing
View from sea of Harbour Cottage
Jumping off harbour wall!!
Sunset at back of Harbour
Sitting area overlooking the Harbour and Beach with Inishkeel and Narin beach in distance
Lounge
Sitting Area
Lounge ovelooking Harbour and Inishkeel Island
Lounge and Patio area outside
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen and Dining area
Conservatory overlooking Narin Beach
Bathroom
Bedroom with view over Harbour
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Family Bedroom sleeping up to 5 persons
Bedroom
Bedroom
Hall Way
View over looking bay
Patio area of Cottage over looking the beach & harbour
Conservatory at rear of house , great for late sunshine
Harbour Cottage bottum left
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Narin-Portnoo, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lrc1974
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing place to stay with a great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic location. Amazing views. Comfortable, spacious and well equipped cottage. Great for small children given proximity to the harbour beach. A really relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaneen D
1 review
“Lovely location but few problems”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived and were greeted by someone painting the property. The painter was well mannered and chatty but he stayed most of the day and this really wasnt the start to the holiday I wanted.

There were a few other issues and I coulnt contact the owner agent on any of the 3 numbers I tried. Took the painter to ring his boss, who turned out was also the agents boss to het through.

the property needs some tlc inside. More importantly it clearly hadnt been cleaned before we arrived. There were half eaten ice cream cartoons, partially melted onto the fridge. The dishes and cutlery were in a very poor state and all needed washed before use.

The above said this is a lovely secluded area. If you want nice iriah hospitality avoid the local pub and check out the golf club

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marvellous location and lovely house”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a superb week. The location is wonderful, we had breakfast looking out over the sea with the mountains in the distance. The house is very comfortable, homely and well equipped. It was perfect for a family renunion. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort and wonderful views from the house
Liked least: nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage, location and friendly people.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here with 3 generations of family. The cottage was perfect for us and location being right on the beach was amazing. Great fun was had by the adults jumping off the pier at high tide while the youngsters could search the rock pools and build sandcastles. There were good walks around the headland and to the massive beach 10 mins walk away. The cottage was equipped to a very high standard both with bedding and in the kitchen. The table tennis table was a real bonus as were the board games and books for adults and children. Altogether there was nothing more needed to have a great holiday and we would have no problem recommending this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
Holywood, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible location and a beautiful house, the perfect holiday stay.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

As we drove into Portnoo for the first time we couldn't believe our luck at the location we had chosen. Incredible scenery combined with a sense of true escapism had us hotly anticipating our cottage for the next week. We were not disappointed in fact things got even better! The cottage sits right on the edge of Portnoo harbour and whilst we were aware of this when we booked we were still unprepared for having a beach and pier as our back garden. The accommodation itself was fantastic with large kitchen and living area that provided an eye on the world around us. The sleeping quarters were all well sized and all modern amenities (including ping-pong table!) were provided.
There were two groups of us in the cottage me, my wife and young son and my wife's cousin, partner and 3 children. During the poor weather we spent time inside playing games, reading and relaxing and even though there was a television and dvd player we rarely used them. On the better days we embarked on walks/hikes, visited nearby villages and even swam with a pod of dolphins that had decided to pay a visit to the local area!!!
Portnoo supplied all the provisions we required. There is a good-sized shop about 2-3 minutes walk from the cottage, which provided fantastic meat, fish and general household products at very reasonable prices. In the village itself there was a bar and a number of cafe's/restaurants all of which did not disappoint. There was also the golf course which was a bit pricey but which provides a good challenge if you are a golfing fanatic like I am!
I could go on into the tiniest of detail but it is perhaps best to paint this picture with the broadest of brushstrokes - If you have a image of the perfect Irish beach cottage based family holiday then this is probably it - you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The unbelievable location.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing