We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanctuary.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
arthurguinness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sanctuary.”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Been to this hotel many times, probably because I know its good. The location is beautiful, the hotel atmosphere gives it a welcoming feel and for me its where I go to relax. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
I have dined in both the restaurant and bar with no cause for complaint, The hotel caters for a lot of weddings and to be critical I have on occasion found noise coming from music at the wedding reception disturbing, but I am a light sleeper.
This however would not put me off returning to the hotel, in fact, due to its popularity I would advise booking well in advance.

Room Tip: any requirements, talk to hotel reception when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    198
    77
    35
    24
See reviews for
257
418
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Spent four days in Ballyliffin during Spetember. Was booked in to Superior Room with sea view. Overall the hotel was excellent except for a couple of negatives. There is no seaview from Room 118 but to give the hotel their due, when I said it on checkout they reduced the price of my stay. We ate in the Restaurant on the four nights but the main course choices did not change during our stay which was disappointing. Plus side-the room was very large and staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in Superior Room which was very large.Decor of rooms I thought were a little dark but that is only a personal opinion. Staff throughout were so pleasent,welcoming and thoroughly professional.Bar food was excellent,great choice,great presentation and very reasonably priced.Breakfast was very good also.The leisure centre was quiet nice, and very clean.Situated near a magnificent beach(walking distance), superb golf course and ideally situated for touring the Inisowen Peninsula. Will be back.

Room Tip: Superior Room for a little extra is well worth it for relaxing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Spent three nights here with Canadian visitors. Horrendous gales couldn't have been better for this most stunning part of the country - scenery (sea) was at it's best and there was a small break to be able to enjoy the rest of the wonderful scenery. Hotel room, restaurant, bar, staff first class. Nothing was any bother to any of the staff - a credit to the owners. Everything about this hotel was four star and will definitely be returning to enjoy the peace and tranquility offered by both the district and the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was at a wedding in this wedding recently and for such a fancy hotel I really felt the food let the place down. The starters was chucked cesar salad, it had far too much sauce and there was no chicken only lumps of ham. The main was average with over cooked veg. The dessert was a disaster the cream was nearly butter and was stale probably sitting in a fridge for at least a day. The breakfast the following morning followed the same pattern.

Our room was fab a pity the bathroom door wouldnt stay closed as we had sunlight in on top of us early the following morning. But the bed etc was luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmbrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
2.2 km away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
22.0 km away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
0.3 km away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 km away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
34.4 km away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing