We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveller rating
524
107
9
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
524
107
9
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked alaska crab claws surf and turf wild atlantic way huge portions family run hotel steak cooked to perfection chowder wedding venue fantastic food friendly hotel top class well worth a visit short break couldn't do enough from start to finish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 649 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2021 via mobile

We are lucky to live within 20 minutes of Caisleain Oir. One of the things that sets it apart is their desire continue to improve and to innovate.
If you have been to West Donegal and not popped in here for their sensational Ultimate Surf and Turf, it's like visiting Memphis and missing out on Gracelands.
What you are getting here is simply unmissable!

A huge steak on the bone, hanging from a nice yardarm along with Jack McDevitt's finest seafood including Lobster Thermador, little cups of delightful chowder, fish pie, crab claws, prawns in garlic butter and my personal favourite the scallops and black pudding in a delicate curry. Ah here!

Credit to the team one and all!

Oh and if I didn't live here I would fly here specifically to have this experience and you can fly into Carrickfinn a stones throw away.
Life is too short.

Do it!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank roryodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2021

We had a great meal in Caisleain Oir. The atmosphere was warm, friendly and SAFE! So reassuring to see a truly Covid compliant Hotel. The menu is full of scrumptious dishes, something for all pallets. We tried the succulent beef and the hake was delicious and cooked to perfection. It’s all local produce of the highest standard. The portions are generous, ideal for a November night! Staff are lovely, very quick and helpful. It was a quiet Tuesday Night, but was booked out, we can understand why! James, the Chefs and Staff run a wonderful Hotel…..we will be back soon.

Room tip: Sea view is spectacular!
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2021

Dear James and Michelle,
Sheila and I just wanted to thank you for all of your hard work and professionalism in making our wedding day celebrations the best we could have wished for. We are so happy with all of the staff, the food, the venue and everything that was done to create the happiest day of our lives. Thank you soo much.
Sheila and Paul

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sheilacX8066RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2021 via mobile

3 colleagues & I stayed in this Hotel last week.
Exceptional value ,exceptional staff& the best Breakfast menu I have ever had Hotel of this size.
Where would you get Hake& poached eggs?
Well done to all.I will be back

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank billyf712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2021 via mobile

We were treated to dinner at Caislean Oir on Sunday evening !
The service was excellent and the food did not disappoint either !
Well done to all concerned for the high level of service and standard of food !
Hopefully we will be back next year ...

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank WildroverTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caisleain Oir Hotel, Owner at Caisleain Oir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2021

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews