We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
117
13
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
13
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

The accommodation is lovely, however, the hotel is pretty far up a hill with very little nearby. Any activity will require getting a taxi or driver and they are shamelessly expensive around here, particularly the ones arranged by the hotel.

Tip: Coming back to the Rising Sun, taxi drivers will find this hotel hard to find. Take the name on a bit of paper in Thai, reception should give you a card, and have the right change as the taxi driver will inevitably not have any change when they arrive half way up the mountain and reception will not be much help.

The cleanliness was excellent but the service(mix ups with arranged drivers and expensive taxis), particularly given the location let this place down for me on this occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

All other holidays became ordinary after staying at the Rising Sun Residence. We had a fantastic time (two adults, one young child and a baby). The owners and staff made us feel like honoured guests for the entire time. They were all so warm and lovely. The villa (one of 5 around the main pool) was quirky but clean and had everything we needed. Hot breakfast was cooked in our villa every morning and we had a huge choice of local or 'Aussie' foods. The pool was great, well maintained and we loved it. Our driver was very polite and punctual. We were given great advice on where to eat and what to visit and bookings made for us by the resort staff. It was a little out of the way from the main tourist areas but we liked that aspect of it. Sooo peaceful up that hill with the tinkle if monastery bells and the sweet sounding birds. It was heavenly. It really was the nicest place we've ever stayed (and we've stayed in a few). We were supposed to go elsewhere but ended up staying longer. Would go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The rooms nearer reception are easier to get to, the ones further down are at the end of a very steep hill - as we had a baby it was necessary to get the car to come and pick us up if we needed to get to reception or the kitchen/restaurant.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoWhereToNextKiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

Staying in the Rising Sun made our Thailand trip perfect!!!
The location was superb!
Staff friendly, approachable and helpful.
Rooms and other facilities excellent!!!
The name rising sun fit it the most!!! Thank you to all the staff. We had a lovely perfect holiday..! Cannot fault it!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Carsonjanet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We stayed the last week of October. From the pick-up at the airport the holiday was a breeze. Wipa and her staff gave us a very warm welcome, ascertained the preferences for our holiday, recommended and booked restaurants and shows for us. Our driver was considerate, attentive, accommodating and always pointed out places we had no knowledge of en route, pulling in for photo opportunities. He was always willing to wait at our convenience and was always on the look out for us on our return.
The one bedroom villa shared a large pool with three other one bedroom villas. The accommodation was ideal, spacious, in good order, clean and very comfortable.
In order to get the best deal it is best to book on their own site where all the extras are offered which takes away any concerns of holidaying in an unknown place and the staff care about the quality of not only your stay but your experience in their country.
Tip: Don't miss the trip to the market at the start of your thai cooking class. Unforgettable
Would return in a heartbeat. Thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect. We stayed in a one bedroom villa (nr 2). All one bedroom villas are grouped around the large pool with sun beds outside your front door. One bedroom villa had fan and air con in large bedroom with dressing area, huge bathroom, comfy lounge with dining table, tv and fan.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Excellent place to stay on Phuket. Concept is full-service home from home in a peaceful location, up a hill, set wellback from the major roads.

We stayed on a one-bedroom villa, part of a cluster of five villas around the main pool. The villa was immaculate and in great condition, the pool was very well maintained. Breakfast was served in the room each day.

The service provided by all staff (housekeeping, management, gardeners, security) was very good, particularly Bla in reception who arranged all cars, massage, restaurants, beach visits, day trips seamlessly based on our daily requests.

One thing to watch out for is the car service: the location means you need a car each day if you want to do more than chill by the pool. The hotel offers an inclusive daily car for 9 hours, but only if you book directly with them. If you use an on-line travel agent to book "bed and breakfast", then that's what you get, no car included. So, book with the hotel website directly.....their offers are cheaper anyhow!

Nai Harn beach was excellent (15 min drive) and we liked the relaxed Rimlay restaurant in Raiwa (15 min) and the much more upmarket (i.e, expensive) Ban Rim Pa restaurant in Patong (25 min).

Recommended if you want to be looked after and want to avoid the congestion and bustle of one of the resorts.

Room Tip: There are five one bedroom villas. I would say OBV #1 is not in an ideal location, all of the others are fine.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dhardiegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews