We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime position”
Review of Esquire Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangonui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Esquire Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Mangonui B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Right on the waterfront to observe all the action. Very well presented older style motel unit with everything provided - even ice in the deep freeze. This seems to be a failing with most New Zealand accomodation units that ice is not available on hand when you arrive. Full marks to the Esquire. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay being handy to excellent restaurants and lovely views.Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mervyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esquire M, Manager at Esquire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thanks Mervyn, just glad to be of service. We aim to be comfortable, not corporate.

Cheers, Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Esquire Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2016

We drove into Mangonui on Guy Fawkes night and luckily stopped at the first motel we came across. The managers Steven and Valerie were very welcoming even though it was late and we were delighted with the size and comfort of the unit. The views across the water are something else again, but it was the managers that made this place, nothing was too much trouble to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We will definately be back for a return stay at the Esquire Motel sometime. Thanks again Steven and Valerie!

Stayed: November 2016
Thank annatantau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esquire M, Manager at Esquire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Just happy to be of service. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your re-visit.

Cheers, Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Fabulous stay in this boutique motel. Location, location, location with views to die for. Lovely large unit spotlessly clean and although older style Steve and Valerie have added new touches to make the motel look lovely, fresh and updated. Uninterrupted views over Mangonui harbour directly in front of picture window and sliding doors with lovely outdoor sitting area. Enjoyed walking to Mill Bay and back through St Andrews walkway which is part of the heritage trail and also an easy stroll to lovely cafes, restaurants, hotel, shops and grocery store. Steve and Valerie were so welcoming and helpful and we shared some wonderful stories with them. Would have stayed longer if we had more time.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 423ROE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esquire M, Manager at Esquire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Thanks for the lovely review guys. Always nice to know what we're doing right (or wrong). Looking forward to seeing you here again. Cheers, Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Dropped in here on spec after my original destination was booked out. The owners were very friendly owners and the views were great, so I booked up for another night. A great place just to chill out and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DMcGibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esquire M, Manager at Esquire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Pleased that you enjoyed your short break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Great views of the bay (treated to orcas swimming around at high tide). Handy to restaurants and cafes, Well equipped kitchen, and friendly helpful hosts. A relaxing midwinter break much appreciated. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esquire M, Manager at Esquire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Bill. Looking forward to seeing your smiley face back up this way soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangonui hotels
0.2 km away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
128 reviews
3.1 km away
Doubtless Bay Lodge
Doubtless Bay Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mangonui
34 reviews
0.3 km away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esquire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esquire Motel

Address: 76 Waterfront Drive, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mangonui
Price Range: €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 x attractive king and 1 x Queen attractive self-contained units on the waterfront in Mangonui village, fabulous views of the harbour, a great spot in Doubtless Bay where you have fishing and beautiful beaches in the vicinity, with the historic village to enjoy, your stay in the bay will be a memorable one ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing