We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Mangonui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mangonui Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Pleasant host. Accommodation excellent. Spacious, clean and quiet. Views right across the harbour. A good place to base yourself if you are wanting to explre the far north. Definitely worth it and would stay again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carolynne-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017

We arrived in terrible weather, and the night was extremely stormy. We had great views from our unit (Dolphin). which was clean and comfortable. Bed was comfortable too.
I thought I had booked the awesome end unit with the balcony, but we were in the one next door, but all good.
Host was friendly, nice to have the blackboard with my name on it welcoming us.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: specify the end room down the bottom... this would have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This is a simple selling point, you are up on a hill, gazing out across a beautiful bay when you sit in your sofa, awaken in your large bed or when you sit in your private garden area. It is absolutely fantastic, you can get the same view on foot or in a car, but can you wake up to it?

The rooms are spacious and partially updated, some of the kit is ageing for example the internal doors are starting to fail to close. However, everything worked, the new stuff was nice. Water pressure is gravity fed, therefore you aren't going to write home about the shower.

Welcome was very friendly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I stayed for one Thursday night at The Mangonui Motel, having found it online, and been impressed by how it looked. I have to say, its even better in real life. More than just a motel room, more like an apartment, with full kitchen, separate bedroom very comfortable lounge area, and great outside space complete with patio furniture. The views are absolutely stunning too, with a panoramic 180 degree vista over the harbour, across the bay and out to sea. It has to be seen to be believed. The large bed was very comfortable, the wifi connection is fast and there is full full Sky TV. It is also such a quiet location that in the evening I could hear the morepork and kiwi calling from the reserve across the bay.The proprietor was very friendly and helpful, even taking the trouble to put a welcome sign up for me when I arrived which was a nice touch. Being able to check in at noon was also good.In terms of price, I found the rate to be very reasonable, and considering the high standard of the accommodation, I would say that this was an extremely good value booking. I wish I could have stayed for more than the one night, but if I'm ever in Mangonui again, I would definitely stay here. This delightful little town has everything you could possibly need, restaurants, shops, bars and a very lovely area hereabouts. One tip: Fresh and Tasty, next door to the Hotel on the wharf does the best fish and chips in town. I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this absolutely superb place, in fact I would go as far as to say that this is one of the best motels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 5 has the best of the great views. It was a real pleasure staying in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JJL1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at Mangonui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you for your custom and the great review. I could not have said it better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The 'best views' in Mangonui convinced us to book and we were not disappointed. We were upgraded and the rooms were clean and comfortable, with a stunning view of the harbour. The electric blanket was really good for the middle of winter. The free wi-fi was fast and constant. The steps down to the village are not as daunting as it sounds, and only takes a few minutes to get down. We highly recommend the Mangonui Motel and will certainly go back there.
We stayed at a few 'more expensive' motels on our trip and they were not as clean, and we had to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.6 km away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
134 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
20 km away
Carrington Estate
Carrington Estate
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
6.2 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
28.4 km away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Motel

Address: 1 Colonel Mould Drive, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range: €65 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangonui Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six large 50 sq mtr one bedroom apartments. Located on a private area with awesome sea and harbour views. Full facilities for cooking, separate bedrooms, free wifi is available, free parking at your room. 5 Minute walk to the village. Perfect for exploring the Far North of New Zealand on day trips ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mangonui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing