We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
8
15
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
15
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden barlocal pubpaddypokiesnzviewsharbour
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

I stayed here for 4 nights - and after taking 1 day as a rest I used the other 3 days to tour the upper part of NZ by motorcycle. Very helpful and friendly management and really good rates. All the facilities including a cafe down stairs and another one very nearby it suited me perfectly

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Apparently the most northerly hotel in NZ. Cool old building. We had fish and chips (with vinegar on the side) for lunch in the garden bar over looking the bay. It was delightful. Highly recommended if you are visiting Mangonui.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We enjoyed the hospitality of the bar and the companionship of the resident cockatoo, Barney, at the hotel as we sat and watched the passing parade of locals and visitors.
The bar had a steady stream of customers both to enjoy a beer and a bar meal.
The bar boasts an eclectic display of memorabilia - from old big game fishing gear through to model sailing ships and beer can aeroplanes that add to the atmosphere of the old hotel. Worth a visit and a quiet drink on a hot afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We had our work event there,This is so far the Best pizza in the Northland area. The Lamby pizza and Vegetarian were my two favourites.Random Pizzas kept coming out, The service was amazing as well, there is a great selection of ciders,beers & mixers...just like every good bar should.They even popped to the local shops & got some red bull for a few of the co workers. There are Great views of the water.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Michelled3067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We came upon this place and so glad we did. The room was comfortable but the best part where the views of the bay. Also there was a fish and chip restaurant next to the hotel where we really enjoyed our meal and you could have a beer with your meal. I woke up early the next morning and went for a walk round the bay it was very quiet so really nice didn't see any dolphins or penguins may be next time

Room Tip: We were at the front didn't have a problem with the noise
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews