We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical irish place”
Review of Angler's Rest

Angler's Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We ate good plates (cod goujon and southern chiken fried). Nice place but a bit crowded. Reserved a table before

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Vacation662744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Have been a few times now. Always get the sirloin and it's always cooked the way I ask it to be. Excellent food brilliant staff and beers.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Bish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We stopped in here for a light lunch but we were faced with a full-on carvery. So we went with the flow and were very pleased with the quality of the beef. The staff were all very polite and friendly and the place clean and tidy.

I suspect we need to come back with a bigger appetite to try it more fully but our initial experience was pleasant enough to make that possible.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Called in here recently on two occasions when out and about in motorhome. Carvery is served every day, apart from Saturday, from 12.30 to 3.00 p.m.
On both occasions we enjoyed a very good lunch. Roast beef, ham, chicken curry and cottage pie was on offer this week along with roast potatoes, mash, carrots and peas, stuffing and gravy. We both took the ham which was very tasty. Jugs of iced water are complimentary with diluted juices to add. The meals were very good value at 9 euros each and we were certainly full on leaving, would highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank marie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

This is a very friendly restaurant/bar in Ballyconnell. We walked here from our boat hire parked on the public jetty. Our first night was a Sunday so we were lucky to get our servings from the carvery. The price was very reasonable, there were several meat choices and included several sides. I chose the turkey and the sides of dressing, mashed potatoes, roasted potatoes and cabbage salad. It was all covered with delicious gravy. We stopped by here a second time on our way back South on the river and I had the battered cod. The fish was fresh, crispy and cooked to perfection – loved the batter too. Several of us also had the soup which was very good. We hung around a few hours sipping our ice cold Smithwick’s beer and watched World Cup games. The dining room has an old timey feel and is decorated with fishing pictures and stuffed fish – interesting.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angler's Rest also viewed

Ballyconnell, County Cavan
Belturbet, County Cavan
 
Ballyconnell, County Cavan
 
Cloverhill, County Cavan
 

Been to Angler's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing