We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for a wedding in the end of 2011.

Its a nice hotel-but a bit dated. the room was a decent size but could do with an upgrade, very old fashioned. we decided to treat ourselves to breakfast in bed. it was absolutely freezing and disgusting. complete rip off.

Wouldnt stay again due to bad value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yelsewetuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry if breakfast was not up to our usual high standard. As over four months has passed since you stayed, I am sure you can appreciate it is very difficult to follow up at this stage, however this will not deter me from addressing the matter with the relevant personnel.

In response to your comments about the hotel being “old-fashioned”, we do offer both traditional and contemporary style bedrooms, so if you prefer a more modern style décor please request one of these rooms if you decide to make a return visit. Indeed we certainly hope you decide to return to the Slieve Russell, as we would welcome an opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    392
    136
    50
    35
See reviews for
432
742
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Spent last weekend with my wife in the Slieve Russell and once again had a really enjoyable stay.The spa facilities and the staff were excellent and the grounds, golf course and restaurant were top notch. All members of staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help.I will be keeping a close eye out for any special offers as we can't wait to stay again soon. It is just a pity what has happened regarding Mr Quinn as without him this excellent hotel would not exist.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed with my wife in Feb 2012. Excellent service, food, rooms and spa. As part of our package we had access to the Hydrotherapy suite which was really great, we ate at both restaraunts over the weekend and couldn't fault either. Overall, highly recomended hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Golf Course!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navanman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your romantic weekend break with us. I thank you for your positive comments regarding service, food, rooms and spa. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at SR for a family wedding. Couldn't fault the service and facilities. Great hotel just a tad pricey with exchange rate. Weather was brilliant so made our stay even better. The staff upgraded my parents room as they stayed on, a few extra days, really nice touch :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyC0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent family wedding at the hotel. I was happy to note you found the service and facilities to your satisfaction. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Got married in this hotel in 2010 and all my guests stayed over and agreed the hotel is amazing. The setting, gardens, facilities are second to none. Went back for my anniversary got the honeymoon suite, fruit, chocs and bottle of champers! Again staff couldn't do enough for you. This time played golf, course was great. Music in bar both nights of weekend. Ideal if you want romantic weekend away. Food excellent in restaurant and breakfast was also great. Spa facilities very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, for weekends away and also to get married. However if you get married there make sure Lorraine its not your wedding planner as she its the only negative thing about the whole hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootballMadChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your anniversary stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. I was pleased to note your positive comments regarding staff, golf and entertainment. I am happy to learn that you and your guests enjoyed your wedding here in 2010 and that you would recommend the hotel to others. I note your valued observation regarding your wedding planner and I will discuss your feedback with the relevant personnel.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
14.8 km away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
34.6 km away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
19.0 km away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
19.6 km away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
30.9 km away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing