We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the craic is mighty!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the craic is mighty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Slieve Russell gives you a great time.
It's set in the midst of the beautiful lakelands of Co Cavan, and you can do anything there – walk, ride, go boating, eat, drink, listen to live music, generally unwind and meet the best people in the world.
Apart from the golf, the hotel has a lovely (warm!) swimming-pool, gyms and bars and restaurants, open fires, and the nicest staff you could hope to meet. They'll do anything for you, with a smile.
You'll step out of time, relax, laugh, feel refreshed and bucked up and cossetted. The craic's not just mighty – it's "ninety"!

Room Tip: Every room I've had has been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to the Slieve Russell. I was delighted to read your positive comments about the hotel and that you had such an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    381
    134
    49
    36
See reviews for
422
729
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

stayed on a groupon deal with 3 other couples midweek
.Everything about the place was beyond expectation- friendly staff good food wonderful golf and fantastic leisure facilities.the rooms were bright airy spacious and the beds top quality.We will be back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read your lovely comments regarding food and staff and the hotel in general. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I cannot praise the weekend my wife and I just spent at the Slieve Russell Hotel. Right from when we arrived until we left the staff at the hotel and golf club could not do enough for us (and the hotel was full as it was half-term! The room was just right and the meals we had in the Sentanta restaurant were excellent. The golf course was a treat to play even in February and it's condition for this time of year is a credit to the ground staff and head green keeper.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone and look forward to going back again

Room Tip: No need all the rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PC127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Slieve Russell. I was delighted to read your kind comments regarding your room and food and I will pass on your positive feedback regarding the golf course to the grounds staff and greenkeepers. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

In room entertainment has very little to offer television wise, not a lot of activities in the hotel, my partner and I planned to have a spa treatment that coincided with plans that we had for the weekend we checked in with the spa that morning and discovered that they had no record off our appointments which we had booked 2weeks prior they tried to offer us a facial which was STILL at different times our treatment that we booked was a seaweed wrap, very disappointed an will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyHmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Maybe are expectations of the Slieve Russell where too high to begin with! We booked through a groupon voucher and as we where taking are two children with us we had a charge of 60 euro, which we did'nt mind. We where paying for the extra beds for the kids well the single bed was jammed tight to the bottom of our bed so the room was very tight for space, we have stayed in other hotels in family rooms and this was never a problem before. The Bed had a bare base and a sheet only over the mattress- no mattress protector or undersheet, we would not let our kids sleep on a bed like this at home never mind pay for it!
The room was very dated and shabby with water like marks on the roof. We where early to check in so we where happy to wait, they told us they would call us when are room was ready but it then got busy and people where checking in and being given there keys and straight onto there rooms. At 4.30 we rejoined the que to find out if our room was near ready and it was they where just to busy to let us know!
We ate our meal in the restaurant on the night of arrival and were both very dissapointed. The choice was very poor and for what we got was very very expensive. We definately dont mind paying for a good meal but this was just over priced!
On the first morning the breakfast was lovely in the main dining area and on the second morning we where escourted into the setanta restaurant for our breakfast as the main dining room was too busy. Breakfast was to be served until 10.30am but at 10.15 everything was cleared away and the doors closed, we went in to get more fruit juice and they had taken it away, when i mentioned this on departure the receptionist told me she noticed it cleared away too early too!
The manager in the breakfast room was quite abrupt.
The carpets and wallpaper where all dated and worn, thread bare carpets and wallpaper had been replaced in areas which was a different tone-not good!
The kids soft play area well it was awful to say the least how you could let young children in here is beyond me, our youngest was 2 and half and we only stayed in it 5 mins.
Overall a very dissapointing stay and we will not be back , i have a suspiction that due to us using a groupon voucher we were down graded!
Other hotels in cavan are much more superior and not the above prices!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bsf142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
14.7 km away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
34.6 km away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
19.0 km away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
19.6 km away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
30.9 km away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing