We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Hills has to be seen to be believed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Rush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandy Hills has to be seen to be believed!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at Sandy Hills for 2 nights at the start of our holiday. On arrival we were welcomed warmly by Mary, who showed us our room and then brought us tea and cake in the lounge. We were stunned by the impeccable quality of our room, which was immaculate, with a huge bathroom. The photos simply cannot do the accommodation justice. Mary is a lovely person who puts herself out to make sure that her guests are comfortable. Our breakfast was delicious - Mary takes time and care to obtain very good food from local farms.
Sandy Hills is also convenient for visiting Dublin - which is about 20 minutes away by train from the local station. Rush itself is attractive, with a pleasant beach. We enjoyed good food in the Harbour Bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
96
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Mary Buckley is the Queen of B&B proprietresses! She is a warm, caring, and thoroughly thoughtful hostess, with a charming 4-diamond B&B to match. Everything is bright and clean, with very nice appointments, comfortable beds (and pillows!), and first-rate en-suites. We stayed with Mary and her son, Owen, at the first and last of our trip to Ireland. Sandyhills B&B is situated 20 minutes to DUB, so if you're flying in or out, it is very convenient. The breakfast (to order, from several choices) was delicious, and a great way to start the day. Even Mary's cat, Frodo, is a charmer, giving just enough of a wink to cadge some of our picnic goodies that we enjoyed in the back yard at Mary's picnic table.
Do yourself a favor, and look no farther...if you beat this one, you're one lucky soul indeed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

To start, Mary the owner is one of the loveliest people you will ever meet. She is genuinely nice, very helpful, very caring and wants to make sure your entire experience is outstanding. The location is very convenient to the airport. Fifteen minutes at the most. There is a gas station en route so you can fuel up before returning a rental car. Sandy HIlls is often classified as being in Dublin when it is just east of Dublin. Don't let that discourage you though. You can get into the city in a few minutes, then leave the noise and congestion behind and really rest. The B&B is very nicely decorated. Contemporary, yet homey with natural materials. Mary has created a quasi spa, quasi B&B feel. The bathrooms are modern and large for Irish B&B standards. There is free parking. Mary is a great cook and will make you just about anything you want. She shops fresh everyday at local farmers markets and butchers so the food is both yummy and high quality. Wonderful experience. The only "negatives" if you can use that word is that there is no internet access at all so you cannot print boarding passes or check e-mail and the B&B only gets local TV channels (maybe 3) so if you like to settle down at night and watch a favorite show or movie, no chance here. If you are looking for a well appointed, convenient and very welcoming B&B, then please stay at Sandy Hills. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmsPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Mary is warm and welcoming, a superb host. Every room is immaculate, comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed the village and a meal at the Harbour Bar - great pub and restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raely2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordNew Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Spent our last two nights in Ireland at this marvelous B&B. Our room was impeccable and Mary made our stay memorable with her warmth, home cooking and even restaurant recommendation. We have been to Ireland 3 years in a row and this is our favorite experience. It beats Ashford Castle and the Ritz-Carlton by a mile! My husband and I are still smiling and thinking how fortunate we are to have booked this extraordinary B&B that makes you feel so welcomed and also disappointed that you have to leave at the same time!!! Don't miss out on this superior accommodation.

Room Tip: We had the most spacious, immaculate and comfortable room of our trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeQ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rush
9.9 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
8.0 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,532 reviews
11.4 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
353 reviews
18.3 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,881 reviews
4.4 km away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Address: Corrs Lane, Rush, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rush
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hills b&b
Sandy Hills Hotel Rush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing