We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
253
9
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsandy hillsharbour bardublin airporthostess marycoastal walksbreakfast was delicioushouse is beautifultrain stationoff street parkinglovely homedublin areatea and biscuitsa wonderful stayireland vacationon arrivalclose to the airport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Mary Buckley is the Queen of B&B proprietresses! She is a warm, caring, and thoroughly thoughtful hostess, with a charming 4-diamond B&B to match. Everything is bright and clean, with very nice appointments, comfortable beds (and pillows!), and first-rate en-suites. We stayed with Mary and her son, Owen, at the first and last of our trip to Ireland. Sandyhills B&B is situated 20 minutes to DUB, so if you're flying in or out, it is very convenient. The breakfast (to order, from several choices) was delicious, and a great way to start the day. Even Mary's cat, Frodo, is a charmer, giving just enough of a wink to cadge some of our picnic goodies that we enjoyed in the back yard at Mary's picnic table.
Do yourself a favor, and look no farther...if you beat this one, you're one lucky soul indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

To start, Mary the owner is one of the loveliest people you will ever meet. She is genuinely nice, very helpful, very caring and wants to make sure your entire experience is outstanding. The location is very convenient to the airport. Fifteen minutes at the most. There is a gas station en route so you can fuel up before returning a rental car. Sandy HIlls is often classified as being in Dublin when it is just east of Dublin. Don't let that discourage you though. You can get into the city in a few minutes, then leave the noise and congestion behind and really rest. The B&B is very nicely decorated. Contemporary, yet homey with natural materials. Mary has created a quasi spa, quasi B&B feel. The bathrooms are modern and large for Irish B&B standards. There is free parking. Mary is a great cook and will make you just about anything you want. She shops fresh everyday at local farmers markets and butchers so the food is both yummy and high quality. Wonderful experience. The only "negatives" if you can use that word is that there is no internet access at all so you cannot print boarding passes or check e-mail and the B&B only gets local TV channels (maybe 3) so if you like to settle down at night and watch a favorite show or movie, no chance here. If you are looking for a well appointed, convenient and very welcoming B&B, then please stay at Sandy Hills. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmsPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Mary is warm and welcoming, a superb host. Every room is immaculate, comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed the village and a meal at the Harbour Bar - great pub and restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raely2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Spent our last two nights in Ireland at this marvelous B&B. Our room was impeccable and Mary made our stay memorable with her warmth, home cooking and even restaurant recommendation. We have been to Ireland 3 years in a row and this is our favorite experience. It beats Ashford Castle and the Ritz-Carlton by a mile! My husband and I are still smiling and thinking how fortunate we are to have booked this extraordinary B&B that makes you feel so welcomed and also disappointed that you have to leave at the same time!!! Don't miss out on this superior accommodation.

Room Tip: We had the most spacious, immaculate and comfortable room of our trip!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeQ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at this B&B in June and if you want a treat, stay here! Mary, the owner of the B&B and her son were the nicest people! Could not do enough for my 2 daughters and myself! Our only regret was leaving!

Breakfast is not to be missed! Mary is a wonderful baker!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelSue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews