We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
2
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews death valley stayed nights hookups sites campground shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Some context is helpful: This is deep inside Death Valley which is a large desert and mountain environment. Therefore, the campground and surrounds are sand/dust/gravel. There are 14 sites with hookups, and then a lot of spots if you want to boondock or tent camp. It is situated in a lovely valley. There is no shade.

There was zero internet and a weak ATT signal. No cable and no air channels to grab. Utilities were fine with the one comment that the sewer connections are too far off the ground which creates flow issues and very high sewer pipe pressures. The giant ravens around the park pecked holes in our sewer hose and destroyed it. Happened to others too.

Our rate of $20 per night was because we got 50% off for having a lifetime national park pass. This is highly recommended if you love the national parks like we do. We stayed 7 nights and there is a lot to see in and around Death Valley. Wonderful place.

There is a large general store (crowded most of the day). Gas is available but expensive (expected). Diesel is down in Furnace Creek.

This is basic but ok given the location and the fact it is inside a national park. We were glad to have hookups. We camped at Stovepipe Wells Village RV Park (Concessionaire Operated) in a 36' Motorhome with a tow car.

Room tip: See: Artist's Drive, Badwater Basin, Golden Canyon (at Zabriskie Point), Twenty Mule Team Canyon, Dante's View, Rainbow Canyon.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019 via mobile

Even though we had only booked, in advance, one night at this campground, we decided to stay another.
Staff were all polite and helpful. The shop was well stocked with supplies and gifts. And there was a swimming pool which was perfect after a morning sightseeing in temperatures above 40degrees centigrade . WiFi was available if you went to the computer room next to the site office. And petrol could be bought at the garage.
The site was basic but that added to the experience of RV camping out in Death Valley. We enjoyed our stay here and used it as a base to explore sights.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 943RhonaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019

Flat level site with full hook ups, it’s basic and just a dust bowl but there ain’t anything else near, first class restaurant and fab bar. Shop’s have a good selection of stuff but pricey which you would expect for a tourist trap.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Phillowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019

We stayed 6 nights in an RV in the full hook-up area. The sites are basic: no picnic table, no trees (it's the desert), but the views are nice. The pool is refreshing after a hot day of hiking. The shower area is old and could use a good scrubbing with bleach and then a refit, but the products (shampoo, conditioner and body wash) are good. Complimentary coffee and tea are offered in the mornings in the lobby. The staff at the front desk are very helpful and friendly. We especially want to thank Chris and Peter for their help when we got into some trouble with our vehicle. They really were outstanding.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vetann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019

After dry camping for one week on the east side it was nice to be accommodated in a full hook-up site at Stovepipe Wells. Chris, at the front desk did a great job making us feel welcome and he bent over backwards to work it so that we could extend our stay for six more days!
We have been coming here for ten years and we still haven't seen it all! This is a great location for exploring the north and western side of the valley.
Gas prices here are fair considering the area and the other locations so this makes a perfect place to make a base camp.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews