We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We spent three nights at Moonshine and loved every minute of it.
Our cabin "Bushpig" was fully equipped.
Loved the view, the woodwork, the attention to detail.
Thoroughly enjoyed the forest walks, the river, the surrounds.
Beautiful well maintained gardens.
Thank you Sue and Albert for a fantastic get away, we felt so relaxed.

Room Tip: Fantastic views, relaxing atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmaineh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thanks for the fantastic review! So happy that you had such a great time. We loved hosting you too.
Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

If you visit the area and don't stay here you are missing out. We stayed at the Bush pig for one night but would have loved to stay for longer. It's tucked away making it totally peaceful but if you want something to do there is plenty nearby. Albert was very welcoming and was kind enough to give us some advice as we planned the next leg of our trip.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KAW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you so much for the great review. Means the world to us!
Kind regards
Albert and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We were over the moon after our stay! The chalet is beautifully built and maintained, with lots of little touches that make this a special stay. Sue and Albert are wonderful hosts. There are lovely forest walks and great views of the mountains and valley from the deck. Certainly one of the best lodgings we have visited in South Africa. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much Robin for the fantastic review. It was great to have you at Moon Shine and we hope to see you again! If not only to beat your record time to the mountain pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We stayed in 'fly me to the moon' and it was absolutely wonderful. The cabin is immaculate and it has a very organic feel to it. Like it has grown out of the woods. But it is also beautifully sculpted by an artist's (Sue's) hand and includes detailed and carefully selected finishings. Most of these are upcycled, so if you are a conservation conscious person that likes nature and art - this is simply perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in a couples only cabin, but there are larger more family oriented cabins available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KempievR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful spot, this gorgeous setting among the natural forests of Plett/Crags is simply breath taking. Very few places make you feel one with the forest like Moon Shine does.

If you visit do take the time to walk down to the creek below, this is truly a place we will visit again.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Coincut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased that you really "got" what we are about.
Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
6.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#10 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
4.2 km away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 75 in Plettenberg Bay
375 reviews
18.4 km away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
304 reviews
0.9 km away
Green Hills Forest Lodge
Green Hills Forest Lodge
#6 of 9 in The Crags
13 reviews
11.8 km away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#20 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek

Address: N2 | Farm 293, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range: €69 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Minutes from Plettenberg Bay, 1000 miles from reality ... A stones throw from Monkey land, Birds of Eden, Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, Lawnwood Snake Park, Elephant Sanctuary, Tenikwa Wildcat Sanctuary, Bramon Winery, Puzzle Park, Restaurants, beaches and many wonderful Garden Route attractions. Experience the forest from the comfort of your stunningly hand crafted wooden cabin nestled among the trees, or spend time taking in the gorgeous view from the sun drenched veranda of the quirky Garden Cottage. Bushpig & Vervet Forest Cabins have flat screen TV's with select DSTV channels. Butterfly Garden Cottage has a flat screen TV with select DSTV channels & Free Wi-Fi. Fully equipped for self catering, all units are private and have fireplaces. There's a swimming pool, imaginitive kids playground, hike from your cabin to a secluded mountain pool. English, Afrikaans and German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing