We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
89
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush pig tree house log cabin plettenberg bay a real treat loved to stay longer indigenous forest stayed for nights great hosts this wonderful place heaven on earth very special place tucked away loved every minute albert frog vervet
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

If you visit the area and don't stay here you are missing out. We stayed at the Bush pig for one night but would have loved to stay for longer. It's tucked away making it totally peaceful but if you want something to do there is plenty nearby. Albert was very welcoming and was kind enough to give us some advice as we planned the next leg of our trip.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KAW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you so much for the great review. Means the world to us!
Kind regards
Albert and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We were over the moon after our stay! The chalet is beautifully built and maintained, with lots of little touches that make this a special stay. Sue and Albert are wonderful hosts. There are lovely forest walks and great views of the mountains and valley from the deck. Certainly one of the best lodgings we have visited in South Africa. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 310robinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much Robin for the fantastic review. It was great to have you at Moon Shine and we hope to see you again! If not only to beat your record time to the mountain pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We stayed in 'fly me to the moon' and it was absolutely wonderful. The cabin is immaculate and it has a very organic feel to it. Like it has grown out of the woods. But it is also beautifully sculpted by an artist's (Sue's) hand and includes detailed and carefully selected finishings. Most of these are upcycled, so if you are a conservation conscious person that likes nature and art - this is simply perfect.

Room tip: We stayed in a couples only cabin, but there are larger more family oriented cabins available.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KempievR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful spot, this gorgeous setting among the natural forests of Plett/Crags is simply breath taking. Very few places make you feel one with the forest like Moon Shine does.

If you visit do take the time to walk down to the creek below, this is truly a place we will visit again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank Coincut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased that you really "got" what we are about.
Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Sue and Albert were excellent hosts, giving lots of information about nature and the surrounding areas. They accommodated us with special arrangements to stay in "Fly me to the moon" for our honeymoon in April 2017. This cabin is spectacular! Magnificent craftsmanship went into every small detail of the cabin, from the floor to the roof! The outdoor shower makes you feels like you are showering in the woods. The fireplace provides for very romantic, warm evenings. We hiked down to the creek and waterfall. What an experience! I haven't been in such a quiet, peaceful place in a long time. Definitely worth a try! Take a backpack with water and something to nibble because you would want to stay down there for a while!

Room tip: Fly me to the moon is the best honeymoon suite you will ever find.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LilisaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonShine-Sue, Owner at Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are so pleased that your honeymoom will be memorable for all the right reasons.
Regards
Sue and Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews