We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surreal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2016

As the title states, Trogon really was quite a surreal experience. The level of immersion that a stay at Trogon allows you to enjoy with the forest is honestly second to none. The views from all angles are a true testament of how beautiful and amazing nature can be. The therapeutic, peaceful and relaxing vibe you get from a few hours in the spa further enhances the overall experience...and so does Diesel (you'll find out who that is when you get there :) ).
Highly recommended for those who just want to go get away from the stressful hustle and bussle of life...especially those who are lovers of nature.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kudakamsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Trogon House and Forest Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2016

We have visited Trogon before and it was just as Enjoyable as the first time
Friendly staff welcome you and make you feel at home
The setting is incredible and the lodge is beautiful
Excellent staff and very attentive
Will d finitely go back

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kimtQ2274ZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We spent only one night there while driving the Garden Route, but could have stayed much longer. Spent a couple of hours in the spa relaxing after the drive, then had a delicious meal - felt like we were welcomed home by family. Diesel the "jungle cat" curled up with us and slept all night on our bed! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lizrutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We had a stunning time at Trogon House. Loved the special location.
The staff was very helpful and made you feel at home (Lize-Mari in particular)
We booked a master-suite (room 1) which was very pretty. However, located in the main 'house' which caused some noise in the (early) morning when staff assembled and started to prepare breakfast.
That however is our only point of criticism, as we loved Trogon house and definitely will return.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

* The B&B is situated in the middle of the forest with excellent views into the trees.
* The SPA is wonderful
* The rooms itself are well equiped (even if I wouldn't need a tv in such a location) but we had some problems with the infrastructure. Coming back from dinner the electricity in our room didn't work and somebody from the service had to switch it on again. Thus the heating didn't work and the room was very cold. During the night the electricity failed again and we had no hot water and no electricity in the morning. The service could not fix the problem because the fuses were situated in the neigbour room and the guests in this room were asleep... We mentioned the electricity problem during checkout but it was already known to the manager since four weeks...
* The dinner was average

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelpO3480OY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
13.3 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
555 reviews
21.0 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
21.4 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
3.0 km away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
271 reviews
0.7 km away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon House and Forest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon House and Forest Spa

Address: Monkeyland Road/Animal Alley | PO Box 110, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range: €114 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trogon House and Forest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trogon House & Forest Spa offers exquisite luxury, suspended in the tree tops of a forest reserve that stretches untamed along the Tsitsikamma mountains and beyond. Elevated into the tree tops, the lodges embrace the forest with see-through glass walls and sky-lit roofs, creating a true "nature forest" experience. What really sets Trogon House apart, is the absolute privacy and exclusivity in the midst of nature's pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Trogon House and Forest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon House And Forest Hotel The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing