We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Wow .. we had suites at this hotel and we were not disappointed . It was like being in a tree house . The service was fantastic amazing views and our evening meal (which must be booked in advance ) was worth every penny

Thank you so much for our amazing night stay wish it could have been longer ..maybe next time

Room Tip: the suites are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbell070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2016

Trogon House is tucked away in the forest down a lumpy bumpy "road" giving it a sense of perfect isolation. The initial impact is completely unique almost magical, a beautiful glass and wooden building hidden away in the trees accessed by winding boardwalks. On arrival we were shown around and made to feel very welcome. Our room was large and gave a great view over the pool into the forest, however a TLC was lacking and we were a little disappointed. Breakfast on the deck was delicious and set us up for a day exploring the area, dinner was offered but the menu offered was a little too rich for our personal tastes. There is no doubt that the Trogon offer is unique and the care of the staff when on site is great but some things just needed a little TLC to justify the cost. Be prepared for the colour of the water, a long luxurious bath in slightly sludgy water is not a great prospect. The single track access "road" is unpaved and not well maintained, be prepared to reverse and if it rains can be a little bit of a challenge to a standard hire car!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buggsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Spend a magical couple of nights here in July. Words cannot describe the location. Truly unique an magical in the forest. We stayed in a forest suite and felt cut off from the rest of the world. Perfect place for a romantic getaway. Some small problems have to be mentioned. The road leading to the property is horrible at best and without notifying us about the state of the road I picked up some damage on my vehicle. Prior notification would have saved this. Secondly I booked the incredible spa for our second evening and confirmed these dates via email. Unfortunately they messed up and prepared the spa for us the day we arrived. So it took away from the experience as we were not really in the mood on arrival and also had a meal before which made the snacks etc that we paid for not so enjoyable.
But all in all a magical place, that can be even more magical with more attention from staff to small but important details

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Albie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were celebrated our honeymoon and enjoyed our stay!
The place is very special and beutiful, just inside a forest!
The atmosphere was very private and calm, and the pools in the day and the fireplace at the might were great.
We recieved the only room without big windows to the forest and really got disappointed, try to ask a good room ahead.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 297nitzans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We really liked the setting and location of the house which gave us a very peaceful feeling staying at Trogon. However, we are not satisfied with the management during our stay since they never asked us how our stay were or didn't seem to care much about us as guests, also we are not cat-people and Trogon's house cat Diesel (very cute tho!) disturbed us several times during the night with scratching on the window and making sounds trying to get into our room. The staff at Trogon is very good and helpful, they recommended us a great restaurant in Plettenberg for one of our evenings - try out Enricos! The breakfast at Trogon is also very good! Overall, we would recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cctc385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Crags
13.3 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
582 reviews
21 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
21.4 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
3 km away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
290 reviews
0.7 km away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon House and Forest Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon House and Forest Spa

Address: Monkeyland Road/Animal Alley | PO Box 110, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Crags
Price Range: €112 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trogon House and Forest Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trogon House & Forest Spa offers exquisite luxury, suspended in the tree tops of a forest reserve that stretches untamed along the Tsitsikamma mountains and beyond. Elevated into the tree tops, the lodges embrace the forest with see-through glass walls and sky-lit roofs, creating a true "nature forest" experience. What really sets Trogon House apart, is the absolute privacy and exclusivity in the midst of nature's pristine beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Trogon House and Forest Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon House And Forest Hotel The Crags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing