We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
African Crags Eco-Lodge(The Crags)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Four Fields Farm(The Crags)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tamodi Lodge(The Crags)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
238
83
19
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
83
19
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbumpy roadroad leadingglass windowshire carmonkey landunderfloor heatingresident catno credit cardsour honeymoonpool deckopen planbeautiful placegarden routeloved every minuterelaxing staystayed longeramazing views
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Trogon House is tucked away in the forest down a lumpy bumpy "road" giving it a sense of perfect isolation. The initial impact is completely unique almost magical, a beautiful glass and wooden building hidden away in the trees accessed by winding boardwalks. On arrival we were shown around and made to feel very welcome. Our room was large and gave a great view over the pool into the forest, however a TLC was lacking and we were a little disappointed. Breakfast on the deck was delicious and set us up for a day exploring the area, dinner was offered but the menu offered was a little too rich for our personal tastes. There is no doubt that the Trogon offer is unique and the care of the staff when on site is great but some things just needed a little TLC to justify the cost. Be prepared for the colour of the water, a long luxurious bath in slightly sludgy water is not a great prospect. The single track access "road" is unpaved and not well maintained, be prepared to reverse and if it rains can be a little bit of a challenge to a standard hire car!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buggsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Spend a magical couple of nights here in July. Words cannot describe the location. Truly unique an magical in the forest. We stayed in a forest suite and felt cut off from the rest of the world. Perfect place for a romantic getaway. Some small problems have to be mentioned. The road leading to the property is horrible at best and without notifying us about the state of the road I picked up some damage on my vehicle. Prior notification would have saved this. Secondly I booked the incredible spa for our second evening and confirmed these dates via email. Unfortunately they messed up and prepared the spa for us the day we arrived. So it took away from the experience as we were not really in the mood on arrival and also had a meal before which made the snacks etc that we paid for not so enjoyable.
But all in all a magical place, that can be even more magical with more attention from staff to small but important details

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Albie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were celebrated our honeymoon and enjoyed our stay!
The place is very special and beutiful, just inside a forest!
The atmosphere was very private and calm, and the pools in the day and the fireplace at the might were great.
We recieved the only room without big windows to the forest and really got disappointed, try to ask a good room ahead.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 297nitzans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We really liked the setting and location of the house which gave us a very peaceful feeling staying at Trogon. However, we are not satisfied with the management during our stay since they never asked us how our stay were or didn't seem to care much about us as guests, also we are not cat-people and Trogon's house cat Diesel (very cute tho!) disturbed us several times during the night with scratching on the window and making sounds trying to get into our room. The staff at Trogon is very good and helpful, they recommended us a great restaurant in Plettenberg for one of our evenings - try out Enricos! The breakfast at Trogon is also very good! Overall, we would recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cctc385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Difficult to find because no sign along the mainroad or maybe not seen.. the 4 of us..because of the very nice scenery. Beautiful located in the forrest. Very nice people and nice little spa / sauna...

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielkV6696DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews