We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Star Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Peavine Inn & Suites(High Prairie)
US$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Key Inn Motel(High Prairie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Shamrock Motel(Valleyview)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    Horizon Inn(Valleyview)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Western Valley Inn(Valleyview)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (17)
    Filter reviews
    17 results
    Traveller rating
    4
    4
    5
    1
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    4
    4
    5
    1
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 17 reviews
    Reviewed 11 April 2014

    This is your typical cheap motel on first appearance, I'll give anyone that, BUT this is one of the best motels I've ever stayed in. The gentlemen at the front desk are absolutely astounding! They're friendly and helpful and even opened a bottle of wine I had bought that needed a corkscrew. The rooms are spotless! I took a bath in the tub without a worry at all. The atmosphere is quiet and comfortable. Even the WIFI is faster than most hotels/motels I've stayed in.
    If you're in High Prairie for any reason, skip the chains and stay in this place for half the price. The service is worth it. Besides, the TV is a flatscreen and the microwave is nicer than the one I have at home.

    Room Tip: For a solo smoker, pick the single smoking room?
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Ericka C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 September 2013

    The first impression of this motel is pretty much cute with peaceful air in beautiful late summer weather and I did feel the whole atmosphere of this motel is like nice and clean home style relaxing me with comfortale coziness in a small town, which never let me down while staying all the way up in Alberta.
    I have to admit it I couldn't find anything to complain about, which means I was totally satisfied with it:friendly staff, nice room, brand new TV, mild and yummy in-room coffee, and so on.
    I would definitely visit again for my next getaway and recommend it to everybody I know.

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank renfordinn w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 May 2011

    I usually stay in one of the bigger hotels when I come up here on business but because of forest fire evacuation in nearby towns they were all booked. I thought I would be sleeping in the car but thought I would check this motel. About midnight and I was lucky to get a room. The fellow looks like a live in owner/manager but was very friendly. The room is not fancy but was clean, newly painted and had a flat screen tv, microwave, small fridge and coffee maker. It is right in town and my room was very quiet. Rate was cheap and great value for the money. I would stay here again on my next trip and save the extra money!

    • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    9  Thank Denlight
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 February 2009

    I had the impression from previous visits that one could cruise into High Level and find a decent and cheap place to stay fairly easily. I was however a bit worried that everything might be overrun by oil crews and prices bid up, as is the case in many other Alberta small towns. Maybe because of the downturn, the first was true. The Royal Star provided basic rooms at a basic price, and a good night's rest on the long drive north. As a bonus, the attached restaurant is quite good, and I would stop in there on future trips even if not staying in the hotel. Since High Prairie is a 3+ hour drive from Edmonton, or 6+ from Calgary, this is a good place to stop to break up the long drive if heading to the farther parts of northern Alberta or the NWT.

    • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Craxiter
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile
    Google Translation

    Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews