We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
J Hotel(Zhuqi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yahu Hotel(Zhuqi)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Shan Ming Show B&B(Zhuqi)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chia Yuen Homestay(Zhuqi)(Great Value!)
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
23
31
12
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
31
12
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel located right in the middle of the fenchihu old town, a very different experience by staying there. The room is small without soundproof wall, you probably can listen others conversation from next door in your room.
The bathroom come with a huge wood bail / wood bathtub, no hot water supply after 10pm.
But I like that little metal box meal very much, that food is very tasty. The founder of the hotel (an 90 years old man) known as Mr. Lim is friendly.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The hotel is famed for the historical value. Room is comfortably big. I stayed in building A with tatami floor room with the thin mattress on the floor. It comes with the traditional wooden bathtub. The picture of the tub looks so much better than the actual and you probably would think twice before soaking in it. Personally, the additional amount I paid for these differences are just not worth it. My sister stayed in building B with normal beds and is much cheaper. I find that the hotel has its own style but feel that it has been promoted as a tourist attraction and thus over priced. The bento set is worth a try since it has so much historical value. I would skip this area unless visiting historical attraction is in your itinerary.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Itravel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奮起湖大飯店, 櫃台人員 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear
Thank you very much for your suggestions
Our building B just changed the new comfortable bed from LADY AMERICANA
In the near future, we will renovate building A and building B
We will become better and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I have been to Taiwan for at least 5 times for the last 2 years and stayed in lots of hotels/hostels. This is the worst hotel that I have stayed so far. Not only the room that was not clean but what made us unacceptable was the front desk staffs' attitude. They have the worst front desk staff attitude that I have encountered in my life so far. We booked for 2 nights but we canceled the second night and decided to move to another hotel.
Would never come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bernice_per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Room is not clean, rundown and also has a mouldy smell. Bathroom is small and the bath towel provided are those cheap and thin material. Hot water is only available only on specific timing in the morning and evening. The only good thing about the hotel is the nearby shops to walk around during the night to keep you occupied.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奮起湖大飯店, 業者 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Hello,
we apologized that the room let you felt not clean,
we will supervise our housekeepers to do their best to keep the room clean.
And the hot water for using time because of the moutain area, the tempurture in fenchihu here is much lower, we use the environment friendly material heat pump to make the hot water,so we don't provide all day hot water,only available from 17:00-23:00 and 06:00-09:00,and when you check-in we will tell you the information of hot water.
Thanks for your understanding and your accomadation, our hotel is really convenient that located on old street and next to 7-11.
We really hope that you could book our hotel again when you come to fenchihu, we will give you a good impression to live in.
Thank you:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

It was not that clean. Room smelled funny and had mold on the ceiling. Walls were marked up with scuffs and food stains. Some staff generally tried to be helpful, but other acted put out when we asked for anything. Fenchihu is a great hiking destination, but I believe there are better (and cheaper) hotel options in town.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
奮起湖大飯店, 櫃台 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

We apologize for how you felt in our hotel. Thank you for your suggestion. We will improve all the points you mentioned. Hope we have honer can serve you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews