We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
125
18
10
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
18
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach limasawa island castle resort southern leyte whale sharks the owner tacloban airport fish relaxing stay scuba diving three nights relaxing days high season hidden treasure a late lunch water temperature lunch time
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful and small, cosy hotel with personalized service. The place overlooks the bay with a small private beach. Great excursions where David (one of the owners) will guide you with explanations on the fauna encoutered. Highlight is the whaleshark tour (including two snorkling spots) where you are as well very likely to run into dolphins. Good wifi.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank marcfA9578ZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea_Sun_Sand490, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your whale shark tour so much. We did have some issues with the internet connection in early December, so we're very pleased to receive your feedback that the problems have been resolved and that it was working well when you stayed here later that month.

David & Delia Warren
Proprietors

Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, 6602 Southern Leyte
Tel. +63 (0)927 548 8598 / (0)917 408 2529

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

During the week we spend at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, Delia and David made our stay the most relaxing.
Rooms and facilities are great. The hotel has only 5 rooms which makes it very cozy. Beautiful and quiet secluded beach with house reef.
Great food, always Delia's inventive recipes with local ingredients, different from the local cuisine with more healthy choices, catered to our needs.
Activities like snorkeling, diving, boat trips are available on demand. Diving/Snorkeling in Sogod Bay and around Limasawa was amazing with a lot of marine life.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea_Sun_Sand490, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you so much for spending your 1 week holiday at our resort and for your very positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service, facilities and Delia's wonderful interpretation of Filipino cuisine as well as the outstanding diving and snorkeling trips offered by our in-house PADI dive centre.

David & Delia Warren
Proprietors

Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, 6602 Southern Leyte
Tel. +63 (0)927 548 8598 / (0)917 408 2529

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We have been at Peters diving for the last 4 days and loved it. I wanted to show my girlfriend a bit of luxury so booked this place for last two nights. HUGE MISTAKE which I MUCH regret, but as is non refundable we must endure it I guess.

Arrived to find at least 30 screaming kids in the pool area for the birthday party of the owners. We got welcome drinks of iced tea that was room temperature and had no ice, this was the first bad omen of incompetent customer service. We went down by the beach to escape the chaos and noise. at the pool area caused by all the screaming kids. I asked if we could take our late lunch down on the beach to avoid the noise and splashing poolside but the owner David said "it would be too much work because there are stairs". I said "Ill gladly carry the food down the stairs myself" but he still refused insisting we eat by the pool and saying he'd clear out the crowd. He did clear out the crowd, but by refusing my very reasonable request due to laziness it was TERRIBLE customer service.

Lunch was Filipino food, I had caldereta and my girlfriend lechon. Both were average. What was EXTRAORDINARY was the cost, 750P per plate! the highest I have ever seen in this country for local food. Now I know why there is no menu!

After the birthday party for 9 YO Nika broke up, we were excited to have the place to ourselves as there are no other guests. We soon found out why.

Neither the air con unit nor the refrigerator worked worth a damn in room 3, the luxury room for which I paid over 5,100 Pisos! I also note none of the rooms has a view, unlike our cottage at Peters which was just steps from the sea with a large window facing across Sogod Bay.

We were promised the ac would cool the room in 20 minutes, so we waited. For several hours. We put our drinks in my ice chest because my chunk of ice, which I had used for 4 days refreezing each nite in the Deluxe Cottage at Peters, melted when I put it in the freezer portion of the ref in room 3. Eventually I asked the staff guy (who was very helpful and deserves none of the criticism for poor management by David and Delia) to switch rooms. I tried every room, none are occupied, and only the cheapest room (# 4 with a small bed, no TV, and no ref ) had air con that was strong enough to stop us from sweating. They obviously do not put freon gas in the AC units or service them sufficiently. The lack of any breeze coupled with concrete construction makes the place a veritable sauna.

The bathroom sink was full of ants when we arrived too; at Peter's we had snacks and tang and sweets yet never saw an ant anywhere in our room.

Finally, while it sits above a nice beach and it does have great views from the pool area, the beach is a public beach and it was packed with locals so forget any idea of exclusivity of peace and quiet on the beach. Granted it was Sunday which is beach day for Filipinos the country over so surely more crowded than the rest of the week, but just don't be fooled into thinking the beach is private. Loads of locals were hanging out just outside the gate too, perhaps waiting for rides back into town after a day at the beach.

At check out, David Warren the owner charged me the price for the best room, 5115p, despite the fact that we stayed in the cheapest room (3740P) because neither the air con nor fridge worked in room number 3. I protested, to no avail, and his response was as pathetic as his "customer service" saying we could have moved to another 5115P room. It was his night watchman Nene who assisted in in switching rooms as he could not be bothered. I will protest the extra charge with VISA when I get home.

All in all a hugely disappointing place. We'll be back to Padre Burgos because the diving is simply the very best in the Philippines that does not require a liveaboard, particularly the Napantao marine reserve on the other side of Sogod bay about 40 minutes by boat, but 100% certain we'll spend our entire week at Peter's next time. Word in town is the place is for sale so hopefully the new owners can correct the management problems that have allowed the Castle to decline so precipitously (note the last review was 4 months ago, and the reviews back them were very good.).

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank NewWorldSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea_Sun_Sand490, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Of course, we always do our very best to maintain all our facilities and equipment in very good condition, and we are sorry that there was an issue with your original room. We checked your air-conditioning unit shortly after you had checked in and it appeared to be working satisfactorily. Upon hearing of your dissatisfaction later that day, we unhesitatingly offered to relocate you to a room of the same standard with same level of equipment as the one you had booked, which should have been the end of the matter. Let us explain the issues you raise.

The service technician subsequently found that the refrigerant levels were fine, as we expected, but that a weak electrical capacitor which meant the cold air was being blown only slowly into the room, which had not been obvious during our own inspection.

We had no guests staying the night before your arrival and our daughter celebrated her 9th birthday with a pool party at our resort from 11am to 2pm. Most of the 20 attendees were small children from very simple homes in our local village and they were having such a great time that we decided they could continue enjoying themselves until the check-in time of 3pm. In the event, you arrived earlier than that and immediately expressed your anger about the party, which was then wound down as quickly as possible without making the invitees feel like second-class citizens.

On the very rare occasions that it is necessary for guests to change rooms because some item of equipment is not functioning properly, and if the same standard of room is not available, we either give guests a free upgrade to a higher standard of room or adjust the room rate if only a lower standard of room is available. In your case, you had made a non-refundable booking of a “Superior Room” (the highest standard of room) through an on-line travel agent. Having briefly inspected all the rooms you declined the other available Superior Room and decided to take the smallest room, which is located in the shadiest part of the building. We are very sorry about the issues in your original room but, given those circumstances, you were not eligible for a reduction in the room rate because the other Superior Room was available with all equipment working properly.

Meals are served either on the outdoor terrace or in the indoor restaurant, both of which offer superb views, but not at the beach.

The public beach, adjacent to our resort, can sometimes be very popular at the weekends and on public holidays. Entry to our own beach, which is out of eyesight from the public beach, is prohibited to the public but some people are curious and sneak around to take a look before our beach attendant politely informs them that they need to return to the public area. People are free to congregate on the public road near the entrance to our resort as and when they wish, and they have no impact on guests inside the resort grounds.

We have a menu both for food and for drinks. The food menu contains a list of specified and individually priced “light” dishes as well as the price for generic “main courses”, which vary according to what excellent Filipino and international dishes are available and guests prefer. You were charged according to the prices on the menu for the dishes you ordered and consumed.

You can rest assured that we appreciate your feedback and that we have already addressed the legitimate issues you raise and both the air-conditioning unit and the refrigerator in your original room (as well as in all the other rooms) are now working very well.


David & Delia Warren
Proprietors

Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, 6602 Southern Leyte
Tel. +63 (0)927 548 8598 / (0)917 408 2529

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We had a late lunch which the hosts were friendly enough to accommodate. Food was excellent, and service was also top quality.
Facilities and accommodation looked excellent although we had already booked elsewhere.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mark-beauie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea_Sun_Sand490, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you loved the food and the service.

We hope that you will also stay with us the next time you are in the area.

David & Delia Warren
Proprietors

Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, 6602 Southern Leyte
Tel. +63 (0)927 548 8598 / (0)917 408 2529

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We stumbled upon this gem through a friend’s recommendation – it took some finding but absolutely worth it. A group of 7 of us descended on these guys for a late lunch and every effort was made to accommodate us. Amazing local seafood, fantastic views, and great wine and cocktails. David and Delia were super friendly and were a huge help with local and onward travel tips. We really wished we had stayed here!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kím C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea_Sun_Sand490, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you loved the superb food, stunning views and great hospitality.

As well as being an accredited PADI dive resort, we also specialize in offering many other activities in the area, both on land and on (and under) the sea. We are therefore extremely knowledgeable about all the facilities in this beautiful part of the world and we are very happy that we were able to assist you with the planning for the remainder of your holiday.

David & Delia Warren
Proprietors

Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, 6602 Southern Leyte
Tel. +63 (0)927 548 8598 / (0)917 408 2529

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews