We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Oasis in Southern Leyte”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Oasis in Southern Leyte”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We chose to stay for 10 days in this little paradise in Southern Leyte for our honeymoon. Looking for a mixture of diving and relaxing, I have to say it was fantastic. We dived most days in the morning with a partner dive operator (Peter's) and were ferried to and from the dive shop to allow us to do so at no extra charge. Our room in the tower was fantastic, and the food excellent. By far the best food we had during our stay in the Philippines. I would thoroughly recommend the half-board option, though don't arrive with tight fitting clothes as you will be fed so much you may very well need an extra hole in your belt by the time you leave!

All in all the place was lovely, the service was impeccable and the whale-shark / snorkelling trip absolutely awesome. I would definately recommend doing the whale shark trip with David, enjoying the fantastic BBQ lunch and not being in amongst a huge crowd when the other dive operators all turn up at once.

All in all, excellent. Thanks David, Delia and Castle's very own resident princess Nikka.

Room Tip: Take the tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAshcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have stayed at a few resorts in the Philippines now and this by far is the best resort we have stayed at that is locally owned. The rooms are clean and modern, the food is wonderful (worth the half board). So many S.E.Asian hotels try to build a menu with a little of everything and in turn get nothing right. They have a simple but supurb menu here that should please the pickest Westerner (and the portions will satisfy a Westerner). Yes, you will pay for it, but we don't put a price tag on comfort and cleanliness! We brought our 3 small children and they had a wonderful time. The owners arranged for a yaya (sitter/childminder) to assit us while we were on our whale-shark tour and the children had a blast! At the resort, There are plenty of hermit crabs for the kids to catch down by the water and the pool has a perfect view!

They went out of their way to make sure that we had what we needed (even going to town to buy bananas for the baby)! This is not just a Whale Shark tour either, we were out all day, we saw the Whale-Sharks, more dolphins than I have ever seen before, the best site for snorkling I have seen yet. You can stop at Limisawa island to see where Magellan held the first mass in the Philippines. BBQ Lunch, hot and cold drinks are provided during the tour. The owner, David is there with you to make sure that your trip is worthwhile.

Many thanks!!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to send the owners a message or call if you have questions! They are very helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The most is already said by other reviewers. I fully agree:-) Stayed here for a week in the beginning og April with my family (wife and kids 3 + 6). The quality of the service, rooms, facilities and food is above what you usualy find in the Philippines. Equal to upscaled resorts in Boracay, but without the crowd and size. Really botique style. The whaleshark trip was great, with a lot of whalesharks. http://youtu.be/Ou3qfMPnGsY. I did not bring my family, because I thought it would be a too long trip. ( but they had their share in Oslob. Oslob is not as good as this, but easy accessable)
The price of accomodation and food is above what you are used to in the Philippines, but worth the price. My only negative comment about prices is food for the kids, that I think is overpriced. The whaleshark trip is expensive but it is in its own league. Other trips is overpriced, like 2500 peso for snorkeling trip to Limasawa. So you have to be really kean to pay 7500 pesos for a snorkeling trip in the Phlilppines. In Bohol you can rent a big boat for a day for 1300 pesos. Another detail, add some eggs to the breakfast, and it's perfect.
I stayed at the Castle for one week, and that was the end of our 3 months journey, so I was on a kind of budget. But as an experienced Philippine visiter I think my price comments would be the same even on a regular vacation. Anyway, I still give the Castle full score, and David & Delia is the best hosts you can get.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEstil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed feed back which we find very helpful and encouraging. When we offer tours for snorkeling and, seasonally, for watching whale sharks, we too have to hire crewed motor boats at the local commercial rate. We are amazed to learn that you hired in Bohol an all-day crewed boat with fuel costs for only 1300 pesos (24 Euros, $30). We do wish we could hire in Padre Burgos at these rates!
As you didn’t actually do the Limasawa Tour you may be unaware that far more than a ferry service is provided, and at an inclusive cost. You depart early morning from our own beach and you snorkel at two really magnificent reefs with marine sanctuary fees covered and snorkeling equipment provided. But that is not all. It includes dolphin watching and a visit to the site of the first Christian mass in Asia. Also included is a delicious barbecue lunch freshly prepared at the Island beach by our own cook who also serves soft drinks, tea, coffee and biscuits on board, at your pleasure. On return to our own beach in the late afternoon, you will be in time for a dinner whose quality is unmatched in Leyte, as confirmed by our guests who are either on half board or have booked in advance. In short, we offer an all-round experience to be remembered by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A big thank you to David and Delia for making our stay at Padre Burgos Castle resort so memorable. Our family of 4 stayed comfortably in the family room over the Easter break from April 4-9, 2012. The resort is small and cosy with a lovely pool and access to a beautiful coved beach which is very private and secluded. We all enjoy snorkeling right from the beach.

Our diving was arranged by David through a nearby Dive resort. We saw beautiful corals, a couple turtles and large and small fish in abundance. All in all quite nice diving. The highlight of our visit had to be the whale shark outing. What a beautiful adventure. We swam with about 3-4 whale sharks, had some wonderfully close encounters and enjoyed the day thoroughly.

Back at the resort we enjoyed our comfortable room and our half board meals. The dinner was deliciously prepared, served and and enjoyed by all. And there was plenty to go around.

No reason not to go back...

Heidy, David, Brittany and Jessica

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTaylorsOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here for a week over New Year/ January. Everyone at Padre Burgos Castle made us feel very welcome. The food was amazing (thanks Delia!) and always overcatered to what we could eat! The location is just stunning - at the end of the peninsual, with it's own private beach - unfortunately when we were there, it was a bit rainy and the water wasn't very clean with some lice as well. However the Castle has a pool which is nice and clean :)
The girls at the Castle really made our stay - Chris and Diana were so friendly, helpful and fun!

There are a range of services that the Castle can arrange for you - massages, day trips around Leyte, kayaking, but the best trip is the private Whale Shark expedition. We braved the elements to travel across Sogod bay (1.5 hours) on a little outrigger, met up with our spotters and managed to find 4 whale sharks to swim with! And on that day, we were the only ones out there - magical! We were cooked up a lovely beachside lunch, then headed over to Limsawa Island for a quick tour and snorkel to finish the day off. A highly recommended tour!

The hotel is very small, with about 5 rooms, so is very intimate. It's quite pricy for the Philippines, with a fair price hike added on to every service offered, but they're aiming at the 5 star upper class market. While it is a stunning location and place to stay, it feels somewhat out of place in the region (which has pretty much no tourists at all - mainly divers).

If you're looking for a place to relax on the beach, kayak and snorkel (particularly with whale sharks!) with family or a group of friends then this is the place for you. If you're a diver, I would suggest staying at a dive shop, as we didn't have enough time to enjoy the facilities at the Castle.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower room - it was nice, with a view from the toilet over to the water, however it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
For divers we work very closely with 1 of the local dive shops, providing daily free return transportation (10 minutes each way). The programme of 2 morning dives, returning to base and then 1 afternoon dive allows guests to make their choice on a day to day basis as to how much diving they wish to do and how much time they wish to spend using our resort facilities such as catamaran sailing, kayaking, relaxing at the stunning private beach or in the freshwater swimming pool. Guests doing night dives are always able to enjoy our superb 4 course dinners which will be served upon their return to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
136.4 km away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 20 in Tacloban
103 reviews
0.0 km away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
13 reviews
4.7 km away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Caimito Beach Hotel
Caimito Beach Hotel
#1 of 10 in Maasin
23 reviews
12.5 km away
Leyte Dive Resort
Leyte Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Malitbog
23 reviews
46.8 km away
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
Dona Marta Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hinunangan
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Property: Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing