We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Nearby Hotels
US$352
US$341
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
308
106
21
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
106
21
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housechinese restaurantsun moon lakehuge balconyprivate gardenshowing their ageswimming poolrooms are largelounge areahighest floorbeautiful hotelpay attentionluxury hotelchinese teaservice was impeccablechecking inguest rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2010

- about NT$15000 + tips a night comes with dinner and branch
- view is excellent unblocked Sun Moon Lake
- room is excellent, suite sizes room and all come with lake view
- great swimming pool with lake view
- dinner is good with 5 courses + 3 dessert courses
- branch is very good, buffet with lots of choices
- late check out at 1pm
- free gift for new weds
- will come back for sure

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LHT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Strategic location, providing quiet in a busy tourist spot, and a great view from balcony due to its location on a small hill. Pool was very relaxing and had good depth 1.5-2.0 meters, while lifeguard was always on standby. Rooms looked cozy due to all wood surface, but shows age with scratches and slight peeling, thus needs refurbishing. Also my sweater caught on a few dated sticky stains while operating the speakers (perhaps previous guest spilled some drink on it) and the toilet tiles needs more extensive cleaning. These were not the main problems, as I wiped it out with moist towel. However, due to hotel structure with all rooms facing the lake (which is very quiet at night). Any room making noise, would disturb another room's guest. Well, unluckily we had noisy young guests staying above us, and we could hear them talk, laugh, and jump until 2 AM. We called lobby but not much difference, and thus had a miserable sleep. The next morning, we realized we had left a bag probably in the balcony or restaurant. So we called on lobby 2 times, but they didn't find it. Then during check-out, the staff went searching with my friend, only to find the bag at the restaurant counter. Upon questioning, the restaurant staff gave a very uncleaver answer: Lobby did not tell us to hand them the bag. Saying sorry, or just keeping quiet could all have been better than this answer... IF management does NOT improve, I personally think it's not worth the price they charge.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had a suite overlooking Sun Moon lake ... ... option for sure --- but is out there in a league of its own - well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clwdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This Hotel has to be one of the best in the world -- It is beautifully appointed with great facilities in a wonderful location.

We had a suite overlooking Sun Moon lake --- the room was spacious and immaculate with a fabulous balcony with a dining table and day bed..... the design of the hotel is very "zen" but it manages to feel just right - not too over the top. The staff are excellent and the food is good - although we only had breakfast here as we were there for only one night.

The infinity pool is great and we had some good photos in the early morning.

Its not a cheap option for sure --- but is out there in a league of its own - well worth staying here if you are at Sun Moon lake

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kieran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We went to the Lalu during our honeymoon and our stay at the Lalu is definitely the highlight of our trip to Taiwan. I did my research ahead of time, and found some raving reviews about the Lalu. The Lalu did not disappoint us; my husband and I agreed that the stay worth every penny and glad that we stayed at the Lalu for our honeymoon. There are many other resort/hotels out there with a higher price tag, but I don’t think many of them put as much effort into building a hotel in such a superior quality. I’m sorry and almost heart-breaking to hear that some travelers complained about the bed sheets. It’s made of the most luxurious Irish linen that costs US$2K per set. They are not as smooth as cotton or silk, but you will have the best sleep in the humid Nantou area as it breathes well and keep your body nice and cool. The hotel spent lots of effort in washing and ironing the lavish fabric in the precise temperature and at the perfect timing.

Inside the room, they have blooming orchids everywhere, with fruits and pastries waiting for us. Every room in the hotel has a marvelous Sun Moon Lake view and the big futon in the balcony was where we spent a quiet and tranquil days and nights together. We love the swimming pool where we felt like swimming right in the lake and the private dock where we left for the Sum Moon Lake boat tour. Their tea room, restaurant and souvenir store were beautifully built. You can see the breath-taking view of Sun Moon lake in many places in the hotel: at the spa, outside the souvenir shop, at the restaurant, from the swimming pool… What we appreciate most is the quality in the smallest things, the Narumi fine china that they use in the restaurant, the clay pots and snack plate that were made especially for this hotel and the beautiful teak flooring on the floor. If you appreciate finer things and love architecture, you would love the Lalu.

As for us, we look forward to visit the Lalu again in our 10th anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews