We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$189
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$450
US$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
312
108
23
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
108
23
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housechinese restaurantsun moon lakeshowing their ageswimming poollarge balconyfresh orchidsbeautiful hotelhighest floorpay attentionrooms are hugeluxury hotelservice was impeccableguest roomshotel restaurantearly morningfamily trip
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

It is my 3rd visit to this resort hotel. The lake-front suite is perfectly fitting for couples and the facilities are outstanding including library, swimming pool and spa. Dining experience is acceptable yet not to top tier standard vs the other urban fine dining restaurants.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travellertpe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear travellertpe2017,

Thank you for staying with us again. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our room design and facilities.

we are look forward to seeing you again when you return to The Lalu for another wonderful vacation.

Sincerely yours,

The Lalu-Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The hotel is a great property with great service. The only problem is it's pool policy of using a hair cap they provide.

This is the first and only 5 star property I've been on that enforces a hair cap when using the pool. The pool is beautiful and probably one of the hotels best marketing tools at their disposal, pictures there would further their position on social media, just like the Marina Bay Sands did in Singapore. It is also uncomfortable as a guest expecting the best of the best at this expensive hotel to be forced to wear a Cap. Honestly this ruined my experience.

The hotel and its facilities are great. The only other problem we had is that my husband and I had dinner at their Italian restaurant and ended up with food poisoning.

Come here for the view, but don't expect to be blown away.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ange588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Ange588,

Thank you very much for your message and comments made on your experience with us. These kinds of comments give us an opportunity to improve our service and facilities and the end result is more very satisfied guests.

For requirement of wearing cap in pool is for hygiene purpose and it is hotel policy since the property opened in year 2002. We are sorry to learn that you had mix feeling about it and appreciate your understanding.

On the other hand, we are not aware of you and your husband got food poisoning after dine at our restaurant. Our restaurants are HACCP certified and no similar incident has been reported recently and the management is very concern about it. Would you write us to ga@thelalu.com.tw and let us know the detail and we may investigate.

Once again, your comments are greatly appreciated and we are look forward seeing you back to The Lalu in the future.

Best regards,
The Lalu- Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Visited in 2016 with family and was wowed by the scenery and tranquility of the Lalu hotel. Location is unbeatable and view is absolutely phenomenal. However, other than these inherited known features, there's nothing to rave about,especially at the price tag it charges.

Hotel itself
The design and architecture remain one of my favorites. But being a 16-year-old hotel, you can see that the hardware is dated and a bit run down.

Service
Totally inconsistent. I've seen this time really good and really bad service, and mostly inadequate for a 5* hotel of its kind. Front staff are welcoming upon our arrival, but telephone reception, concierge, and a bell boy we run into, are unprofessional. We wanted to take bike rides and called to inquire, and we were told that it can be done anytime that we just give them a call and they give us a lift to the bike rental. Only when we called for ride at 4:50pm they then told us it's too late as rental place closes at 6pm. What a waste of time when words from concierge cannot be trusted.

Also, although hotel knows we have purchased a half-board package, we have to remind them each time, upon arrival, upon check-in,during tour and explanation of our room facility, at dinner we even need to remind them about our package, and also the cake and wine that are included. They further interrupted our dinner to discuss about a spa treatment that's booked by another hotel guest.

At dinner, there are many waiters and waitress attending to our table of 8, but they seem very new and not sure what they should do. They have trouble explaining the menu and answering questions. One waitress even spilled soup on me when she was serving it, not even an apology as she was embarrassed.

There is no consistency of service level at the Lalu; simply to each his own luck. Very dependent on who you run into.

Package
We used the birthday package they promote to people who have stayed here before. It includes breakfast and a la carte dinner, and by the numbers look like we save a few bucks had we decided to dine in the hotel. We chose the Chinese restaurant as we had good experience the last time. The dinner set consists of appetizer, veggies, soup, main entree, rice or noodles, veggies again, fruits and desserts, all in small portion, but they add up to be quite filling. But frankly nothing from the set was very good. To me, it feels like they exaggerate the value of a lady carte menu, it's not worth it.

Sales pitch
I honestly thought the Lalu should be "the" hotel of the Sun Moon Lake, but now I am not so sure. Rooms are often sold out on Agoda and booking.com, but guess what but tons are available on Ctrip. It makes me think if the hotel now is catering to the Chinese crowd. We got the package as promoted by one of the account manager. Through the interaction with her this time, I find that the salespeople have no level of authority to offer anything other than what's speculated by the company. They are hard grabbing salespeople hungry for sales.

I must admit due to my international traveling experience, often in high-end hotels, I am a demanding customer. Beautiful as it is, the Lalu is just not up to international standard when it comes to service.

I doubt I will visit again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Faintingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Faintingstar:

Thank you for your valuable review. The Management deeply regrets to hear of your issues during your recent stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to address some of the issues that have been mentioned.

As for the aging of the Hotel, we are currently undergoing different stages of refurbishments, both exterior and interior. We are targeting to complete within the near future. For the biking matters, we did provide adequate information, drop off and also pick up services but unfortunately may have missed out on providing the cut off timing which is provided by the bicycle shop at Sun Moon Lake. We apologize on this hiccup. Pertaining to your dining experience, we have taken note of the “soup” mishap and would be zooming in to rectify this area. As your package is inclusive of dinner, we do provide set menus to cater for this. We have forwarded your concerns to our F&B division for further action.

As the Lalu has many channels of reservations, we do widen our business modules working alongside with many agencies in the Travel and Trade business. Trust that we do not only cater for specified regions or countries. We apologize that our Sales person has not met your expectations and we will definitely be zooming in on this part to make improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback which gives us a chance to improve ourselves. We hope you may give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

High security hotel which is completely off limits for non-guests.
Not like your typical hotel exterior, however the interior was very unique and beautiful with a timber theme.
The staff are very friendly.
The infinity pool was beautiful.
We enjoyed a degustation meal at their western cuisine restaurant and it was devine. Compliments to the chef!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hayashikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Hayashikat,

Thank you for your amazing review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us and satisfied with our room design and cuisine.

Once again, thank you for your great comments and are look forward seeing you back to The Lalu in the future.

Warm regards,
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We had a terrible night in this hotel. The cotton tip provided by the hotel accidentally fell into my husband's ear while he is using it to dry up. We asked for help from the hotel but they have no first aid kit or certified personnel at all. Eventually they bought a sanitary kit from the 24 pharmacy in town and took us 3 hours to get the thing out.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kchung99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLaluOfficial_SML, 公關經理 at The Lalu Sun Moon Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear kchung99:

Thank you for the mail and we are very sorry for the incident. The management will look after the comment about the cotton tip.
In fact, we do have first aid kits available at front office. In some urgent situation, we would accompany guests to nearby hospital for medical attention as part of hotel service.
Thank you again for your feedback which gives us a chance to improve ourselves. We hope you may give us an opportunity to deliver a better The Lalu experience for your future stay.

Best regards,
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews