We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doris Home(Yuchi)
US$111
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Look B&B(Yuchi)
US$124
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Moon Lake 5Boat B&B(Yuchi)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$97
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$403
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
312
108
23
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
108
23
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housechinese restaurantsun moon lakeshowing their ageswimming poollarge balconyfresh orchidsbeautiful hotelhighest floorpay attentionrooms are hugeluxury hotelservice was impeccableguest roomshotel restaurantearly morningfamily trip
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer! Felt very pampered in this hotel. The room was beautifully designed with a relaxing balcony and beautiful view of the lake. The room is spacious and tastefully decorated and we had the most peaceful sleep here. Loved the touch with the fresh orchids! The breakfast was fantastic with a huge choice of foods. We also had dinner in the Chinese restaurant which was delicious and we felt not too expensive. Loved the touch of fresh hot facecloth, delicious tea and almonds on arrival which made up for the slow check-in. The service is superb and standards are very high throughout. We did use the outdoor pool which was refreshing on a cool morning. The hotel is expensive but definitely worth it for a special occasion. The location is also good and only a short walk into the nearby town so plenty of choice to eat out if you prefer. We found the staff delightful and very efficient. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bengie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is our second stay at Lalu, the first being about 6 years ago. We booked a 1 bedroom pool villa this time.This is our favorite room type as although it does not offer great view of the lake, we have a private pool all to ourselves. Unfortunately, the pool was not heated to the 29 degree Celsius as claimed and it was not possible to swim in the chilly Spring evenings. The room is spacious with a living area blended into the sleeping quarter ,an open air shower area, a huge indoor sunken bath and 2 wall mounted showers with seats.One really cannot fault the layout of the room, which is also very well maintained with fresh orchids by the nightstands, fresh comfy linens and quality pillows and mattress.Cleanliness, however, leaves something to be desired. While the high traffic area were kept spick and span, I had the misfortune to spy piles of dirt behind the nightstand, on the underside of the lamp shade, beneath the 'lazy bone' cushion, as well as at the back of the TV. I even found a pair of dirty gloves left behind by the maintainance staff in the open air shower area.
We bought a package that include two set dinners at the Chinese restaurant. While the food is good, we prefer the ala carte menu from the last time.So, it would be wise to buy dinner seperately if quality fine dining is priority.
Service is still prompt and subtle, hence winning a four star from me despite the shortfall in cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My family of 4 shared the villa for one night. We needed a break. The villa is more expensive then the other rooms however it was not cleaned properly. 2 of the tea cups were not cleaned at all, where one had a sticky residue sitting on the bottom and the other had tea leaves still stuck to the cup. I found short curly hair that appears to be from private areas in the tub.

The remainder of the space appeared clean enough, but just the other areas made me coil. My mother made a comment to me that she didn't think the room was cleaned properly, which leads me to think there were questionable points in her side of the villa.

I used the gym and was disappointed that the only air vent in the room was on the opposite end of the cardio machines and near the entrance. So when I went in the morning and there was a man running on the treadmill, the whole room smelled of his sweat and was musky. I had to ask staff to turn up the AC, which helped minimally. You can tell the developers did not make big plans for the gym, it's open from 7 AM-11 PM.

We ate at both the restaurant and the morning buffet. The food we ordered for lunch was good, the staff was hot and cold. We had to wave down staff 3X to order, but they were swift to take finished plates away. The morning buffet is fine, but not special. For the amount of money spent and considering it is on the high end of hotels for Taiwan, it would've been nice to have something remarkable to say about the food. We had to order our coffee for breakfast (not good) instead of being asked for coffee, after already dining on breakfast for awhile. This is actually not a big deal, it just shows the buffet staff is not trained for being a luxury hotel.

Staff were friendly and polite. The view is spectacular, for sunny and overcast days, being that I am Chinese, the image of lingering clouds among the mountain tops is very beautiful and classic of Chinese artwork.

The hotel itself is beautiful and calming.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thatannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

For the view and location not to mention the history where former strongman Chiang Kai shek stayed also his son former president. Expensive but worth it but stay away from Chinese resto just the cafe buffet area! Very good rooms and modern design.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view of lake
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This place was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel offers a refuge from all the loud tour groups down by the ferry launch points. Even though this place is considered high end in Taiwan, it is a great value compared to similar hotels in the States. The staff is very helpful and friendly - we even met someone who lived in the city we were from! The views are incredible - multiple areas in the lobby and open spaces offer great vantage points, and the rooms open up to the lake. You definitely feel like this is your own sanctuary. The food at dinner (Chinese cuisine) was really high end and comparable to tasting menus at big name restaurants. Breakfast had a pretty big spread. Rooms are very comfortable. Wi-fi access in rooms and lobby area. Infinity pool also has great views but I would recommend going when it's sunnier as it's not that well-heated. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeropostale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews